Communicating

I don’t speak Chinese, at least not enough to hold an actual conversation.  It is very frustrating for me.  I want them to understand me here and I want to understand them, but no such luck.  Take my bushy squirrel eyebrows for example, I still cannot find anyone to wax/thread them for me.  Plenty of takers on the straight razor,  but they will stay bushy before that happens.   I have found that I must truly listen and watch the person to help get a better understanding of what he/she is trying to tell me.  I must watch the hand motions and body language as well as listen intently.  Eventually, we can understand each other.  However, it takes hard work to communicate.   I really know how God must feel with us.  He must get so frustrated when He wants us to understand Him and we just don’t get it!  He tries his hardest, yet for some reason we have a hard time understanding.  I am learning that I need to listen intently to Him and for Him.  I must be willing to put forth the effort to try and hear and understand Him.  It is hard work, but it is so worth it in the end.  Are you trying to communicate with Him?  Are you listening intently?  Are you taking His messages to heart?

“But don’t just listen to God’s word. You must do what it says. Otherwise, you are only fooling yourselves.  For if you listen to the word and don’t obey, it is like glancing at your face in a mirror.  You see yourself, walk away, and forget what you look like.  But if you look carefully into the perfect law that sets you free, and if you do what it says and don’t forget what you heard, then God will bless you for doing it.”           James 1:22-25  

0 Responses to “Communicating”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

