Friends

We are really missing home.  We have been here for almost one month, and it seems like forever.  So, I was trying to think of something positive to blog about.  When I go through my daily routine in my head, I am impressed with the amount of friends that we have made.  These are the people that I have contact with on a daily basis.  It is amazing how many people you can become friends with even when you have so little in common.  I am going to list each one and how I know him/her.  I don’t have pics yet, so I will add them over the next couple of days.

Meggy Mommy:  She is definitely heaven sent!  I feel so blessed to have met her.  She is the English teacher at the school.  She has really helped me with communicating and has been so good with the kids.  She took me to get a cell phone since no one spoke English and we went on a scooter!

Winnie Mommy:  This is Riley’s teacher and she is super sweet.  She doesn’t speak much English, but she is so good with my little guy.  She is so “bootiful.”  She has been working on potty training him which takes a lot of patience.  She loves to give both kids little treats. 

Mickey Mommy:  This is Lily’s teacher and she is also very sweet.  She loves to fix Lily’s hair and always sends her home with new clips.  She also loves to give the kids treats.

Alice:  She owns an English school that does after school lessons for children.   Her school is very close to Lily and Riley’s school.  She always stops and talks to us.  She tries to teach us a new word every day.   She introduced us to her sister that owns a little coffee shop/cafe a couple stores down.   

Alice’s Sister:  I’m not sure what her name is but she LOVES the kids.  She does not speak any English.  She is always dressed so nicely and Riley says she’s “bootiful”.   She has nicknamed Riley Dee Dee (not sure how to spell it), but it means brother in Chinese.  Lily is tee-ay tee-ay (once again,not sure how to spell it), but it means sister.  She owns the Hallhali Cafe and is there every day from 8:00 until 10:00.  She is a very hard worker.

David:  David is the store owner’s son and also Alice’s nephew.  He is also at the cafe every day and always makes a point to say hello.  He noticed Lily’s bike seat was too low, and made it higher for her.   He speaks a little bit of English and loves to have a chance to use what  he knows.

Sin (Pronounced Sheen):  He is the owner of the nutrition club on our street.  We also know his wife Patty, but don’t see her as much.  Maybe once a week.  He gives me a pitcher of Guarana Tea every day, which he calls water.  He will not take any money because we are friends.  He speaks very limited English but tries very hard to communicate.  He still likes us even though Riley peed all over his floor =) 

Katie:  Katie is Sin’s 16 year old daughter.  She is very nice and speaks very good English.  We only see her a couple of times a week, but she is so good with the kids.  She has a great sense of humor and reminds me of Kalynn.  She is the Taiwanese twin of Kalynn.

Ok, so I feel better now that I have listed all of the wonderful friends that I have met so far on my journey. I truly miss ALL of my friends back home, even the ones that I don’t get to see very often.  There is nothing in the world like a true friend.  Just know that I am thinking about all you and missing you! 

As I was writing this I had a song playing in my head.  I’m sure you will all remember this song from “Toy Story.”  I laughed at the miles and miles from your nice warm bed part.  Oh, how I miss my bed!!  Make sure you turn up the volume on the youtube video.  I had to turn it up to hear it!

You’ve got a friend in me

You’ve got a friend in me
You’ve got a friend in me
When the road looks rough ahead
And you’re miles and miles
From your nice warm bed
You just remember what your old pal said
Boy, you’ve got a friend in me
Yeah, you’ve got a friend in me

You’ve got a friend in me
You’ve got a friend in me
If you’ve got troubles, I’ve got ’em too
There isn’t anything I wouldn’t do for you
We stick together and can see it through
Cause you’ve got a friend in me
You’ve got a friend in me

Some other folks might be
A little bit smarter than I am
Bigger and stronger too
Maybe
But none of them will ever love you
The way I do, it’s me and you

Boy, and as the years go by
Our friendship will never die
You’re gonna see it’s our destiny
You’ve got a friend in me
You’ve got a friend in me
You’ve got a friend in me

0 Responses to “Friends”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

