Close Your Eyes

I wasn’t sure what I was going to do this morning after I dropped the kids off at school.  My mind was telling me…clean the bathrooms, go get Cat 2(more on that in the next post), and go to the gym.  But, something was pulling me in another direction.  So, I headed off walking down the main road.  Where was I going?  I wasn’t really sure, but I was following. 

 I ended up 30 minutes later at Starbucks.  Now let me tell you, I did not wake up this morning and think about going to Starbucks, let alone walk there.  It didn’t even cross my mind until I saw it in the distance.  I walked in and smiled.  The same smells and sights of home.  I was just taking it all in.  American music, the worker who spoke great English, and my beloved Caramel Macchiato.   I even treated myself to a blueberry muffin.  I took a seat by the window and waited for my drink.  I closed my eyes for just  a few minutes.  I was home.  I know, it was just in my mind, but I was home.  God knew what I really needed this morning even though I didn’t.  Thank you Lord for renewing my spirit today.  My little glimpse of home will stay with me for awhile.  As I sit here writing on a Starbucks napkin looking at the busy Taiwan street, I am so thankful for Him.  It reminds me that he is always with me walking by my side.  Even when I am far from home, He can take me there.  He held my hand and led me here today.  Take a few minutes to close your eyes and be where you want and need to be.  If you have faith in Him, he will take you there.

  For we walk by faith, not by sight.      2 Corinthians 5:7

My presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.     Exodus 33:14

1 Response to “Close Your Eyes”


  1. 1 Jennifer June 18, 2008 at 2:20 am

    I LOVE that post, awesome


Leave a Reply

