The Night Market II

Okay, so everyone knows about my bushy eyebrow problems.  I have been reading up on waxing in Taiwan, and I found out that it doesn’t exist.  Besides the straight razors that they want to take to my face, my only other option was threading.  I posted on this on my other website, www.babyhomepages.net/lilyriley , so if you didn’t read about it you can go and check it out. 

 All the teachers thought I was crazy, but I had to try it.  The only place they knew of to get this done was the night market.  So, we found the threading lady.  Now, when we got there, she had another client.  Can you call someone a client when they are sitting on a stool outside in a dirty, open air market?  I guess you can in Taiwan.  So, she told me to come back.  I watched for a few minutes and it looked pretty painless.  Now I know that she must have been a veteran.  Here I am getting ready.

Then she put a headband around me and started to cover my face in chalk.  Why did she need to cover my whole face is what I was thinking.  I am only doing my eyebrows and lip!  Yes, I have a hairy lip. I am not proud and now it is out for the whole world to know.  However, I am Italian, and we’re hairy people! Oh yeah, and that is a screwdriver in her hand to tuck my hair into the band.  This was definitely a five star salon!

What you can’t see is the sweat beading up all over my face from the excrutiating pain.  She had to keep stopping to wipe my face.  She started by taking off all the tiny hairs around my hairline.  Oh, that’s why she chalked my whole face.  BECAUSE SHE THREADED EVERY LITTLE HAIR ON MY FACE!  It hurt worse than I can even describe.  You know, when you accidently pull a little hair, well imagine that times a million. 

She kept having to stop because I was flinching.  Here you can actually see the thread.  It is just white cotton thread that she holds in her mouth.  That piece goes to the middle of another piece in a t shape.  She twists the thread with her fingers and it PULLS rows of hairs one at a time.  Stop right now.  Go look in the mirror.  I’ll wait…(playing jeopardy theme).  Okay, did you see all the tiny hairs on your face.  Mine are gone!  Each one was pulled one at a time.  Owwww!!!!

 

Seriously, it hurt people.  I do not recommend facial threading for your whole face.  The women here in Taiwan have it done for special occasions like marriage.  Now I know why the teachers thought I was crazy.  They all stood around and kept telling me how beautiful and smooth my skin was.  The other 1000 people staring, just wanted to see the crazy American crying in the chair.  Oh yes, I did cry.  She had to reapply chalk!  Here is another pic of me flinching.  She is doing my lovely lip hair!

Here I am finally finished!  Smooth as a baby’s bottom! 

That my friends, was a perfectly good way to ruin a great evening!  I did survive and I will do it again, but only my lip and eyebrows.  I see no reason why you need to get rid of every little hair on your face.  Meggy Mommy told the threading lady that next time that’s all I want done.  Hmmm….maybe bushy squirrel eyebrows and hairy Italian lips aren’t so bad…

 

4 Responses to “The Night Market II”


  1. 1 Sara Wissman June 12, 2008 at 2:20 am

    You look great! What an experience you are having. You have definitely turned me off on threading—-I will continue to wax!!! Take care!!!

  2. 2 Chrisan Fields June 14, 2008 at 3:41 am

    The look on your face in the last picture says it all. It’s kind of like pain, joy, relief and exhaustion all rolled into one! I think I’ll stick to waxing too! 🙂

  3. 3 Amt Figgins June 14, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    That was fantastic! Thanks for posting the pictures. What entertainment!! Love you!

  4. 4 Alisa June 22, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    Oh my goodness! The lady the other day asked if I wanted to be waxed or threaded and I said waxed and thank goodness I did! Maybe you should get some tweezers?


Leave a Reply

