The Right Tool

I bought a computer desk.  It is blue with the words Mickey Mouse all over it, but it has pictures of Minnie! So funny.  My back and neck hurt from slouching over the computer on our coffee/dining/computer/fish bowl table.  So, I bought the cheapest one I could find.  But when I got it home and tried to put it together, I realized that I needed a Phillips head screwdriver.  I don’t have one.  So, I searched for a replacement.  I tried everything…fork, knife, spoon, pen, nail clippers, but nothing worked.  So I had it half put together and couldn’t get to the store for a couple days to get the right tool.   I ended up buying another desk, but in pink, because the kids adopted the other one. 

I finished putting together the first one, but I had a really difficult time.  The screws and holes were all mangled from my initital hack job.  I finally got it put together.  It is a little rough around the edges, but it works fine.  The new one went together perfectly.  Maybe it’s because I had practiced on the first and learned from mistakes.  Add that to having the right tool, and voila, a masterpiece.

 Know that God is building a masterpiece in you.  Sure, we have all made mistakes and may be a little rough around the edges.  The pieces may not be fitting perfectly in your life because you don’t have the right tool.  Trust me, if you name a mistake, I’m sure I’ve been there and done that.  It has taken me 33 years to put together the pieces that didn’t fit until I found the right tool.  God is the right tool for the job.  With Him, he will put together the masterpiece that is you.  You will become whole and all of your pieces will fit together beautifully.

I know that I am work in progress.  There are pieces to me that are still in the box and must still be added.  But I know that God is working on putting me together.  I know that He is the right tool for the job.  I know that through Him I will become his masterpiece.

For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

Ephesians 2:10

0 Responses to “The Right Tool”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

