It Can Only Get Better…And It Does!

Okay, so the first part of our trip was horrible.  I kept thinking, “It can only get better.  It can’t get any worse!”  It did get much better.  We hung out for awhile before we took a cab to the train station.  The kids were so excited and honestly so was I. 

When we got to the station I found the information center and she directed me to where we needed to get our tickets.  Turns out the kids are free and my ticket was only 500 nt, or about 15 dollars.  All together, with cab rides and my ticket, the train trip cost $30!  Let me tell you, it was the best $30 we have spent!!!  We got my tickets, picked up 3 McDonald’s Happy meals, and headed to the landing to wait for the train.  Here is a pic of the view from the landing.

Here we are having a little picnic waiting for the train. 

When we got on the train, there were not three seats together.  So the kids shared a seat.  They loved it!  I popped in a movie and they kicked back.  We didn’t have Quackers, so Lily thought Bumble would do a great job holding her headphones.

Here are some pics of the inside of the train.  They even had someone come down and sell snacks.  It reminded me so much of an airplane ride.  We traveled at around 295 km/hr which is 183 mph. The scenery was beautiful.  Taiwan is really a beautiful country once you get out of the city. 

Once we got there, we hung out in the hotel and watched movies for the evening.  The kids went to bed about 10 and Ricky got home late.  We slept until 10:15 this morning and just watched a movie so Daddy could sleep in a little bit.  Then we headed to Subway!  That’s right, they have Subway here.  I was so excited!  The menu was the same as in the states.  Here is Lily enjoying a turkey sandwich, doritos, and an apple juice.

We had a great lunch and then headed out to find a park.  It was a park with grass, but the grass hadn’t been cut in awhile.  So, we just stayed on the sidewalks and explored.  Here is a pic of the mountains in the background.

Ricky and the kids exploring.

This was a really cool pyramid, but it was covered in grafitti. 

Lily’s expression says it all!  It was so hot and they couldn’t wait to sit down.

This is before we headed back.  I love the trees here. They are so full of character.  If this picture could talk this is what you would here…

  Lily:  Daddy, can I climb the tree?  Mommy, why do you have to take so many pictures?

  Riley:  I hot Daddy.  I need a drink Daddy. 

   Ricky:  Can you please hurry up!  It is hot. Riley, I know it’s hot and you need a drink. No Lily, you cannot climb this tree.  You will get hurt and we don’t have insurance, that’s why.  Tra, are you finished yet?

After this, we headed to 7-11 (where else would we go in Taiwan?) to get the kids slurpees and mm’s.  Daddy has now gone to the field and we are not going to the game tonight. The kids and I have got to get out of the hotel room though.  They are behind me scrapping over a water bottle as I type.  I am such a good mom!!  Ricky has the day off tomorrow and we are planning on going to Taipei 101, which is the tallest building in the world.  Erin Pote also told me about a Children’s Museum close to here, so we may go check that out as well.  Hopefully I’ll have an exciting adventure to blog about tomorrow!

2 Responses to “It Can Only Get Better…And It Does!”


  1. 1 Ricky Sweet June 20, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    You are such a good mom. i love hearing about all the fun you guys are haveing. thanks for including me. tell Ricky we are hanging in there and doing well.

  2. 2 Erin Pote June 20, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    I hear ya! Being here would make anyone doubt their mothering skills. We’ll just forge on and hope for the best!


Leave a Reply

