Whisper

Riley and Lily sure had a hard time going to sleep last night.  Ricky went in to take a shower and left me with the task of getting them down.  However, after his shower they were still wide awake.  So, I took a bath and let him take over.  Riley went down so easy for him.  When I got out of the tub he was sound asleep. 

 Lily, on the other hand, was not giving in.  She was tossing and turning.  Her mind was going a mile a minute and she could not rest her body.  She started to whimper and whispered to Daddy that she just wanted him to lay down with her.  I watched him through the dim light from the window, go over and lay next to her.  I could see him stroking her hair and then rubbing her back.  She immediately became still.  My heart melted.  Within minutes, she was sound asleep.  Her father’s presence was all she needed to calm her mind and put her body to rest.

I am reminded by how powerful our heavenly Father’s presence is for us as well.  So many times I get caught up in my daily worries and to do lists.  My mind is racing and my body refuses to be still.  I think of all that needs to be done and how quickly I can do it.  However, I know that my Heavenly Father is there to calm my mind, body, and spirit.  He loves us just as Ricky loves Lily.  Ricky wouldn’t let Lily struggle going to sleep.  He knew that she needed him.  He knew what would help her be still and rest.  God will not let us struggle either.  He is just waiting to hear from us. 

When we feel hurried and rushed in our daily lives, he knows just what we need to calm our spirit.  God waits to hear from us.  He wants to calm us.  It doesn’t take much, just a whisper.

Before they call I will answer; 

While they are still speaking I will hear.

Isaiah 65:24

1 Response to “Whisper”


  1. 1 Amy Figgins June 22, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    Made me think of this verse…
    “Be still, and know that I am God.”
    Psalm 46:10


Leave a Reply

