Boob Tea

That’s right.  I said boob tea.  Not tea that makes your boobs grow, just tea with boobs in it.  I’m trying to keep this g rated.  This is a common drink here in Taiwan.  It is also known as milk tea but this version has boobs in it.  Fairly large black boobs to be exact.  Here is a picture of them. 

When I picked up the kids from school today, Meggy Mommy told me that she ordered me some milk tea.  She bought some for me the other day and it was really good.  I’m still not 100% sure what is in it.  I know that it is milk powder, green tea, and tapioca balls.  I really could go down in the gutter with the words boobs and balls, but I refuse to go there =)  Anyway, the one she got me the other day had tiny white tapioca pearls/balls in it. (I am so restraining myself right now)   Once I got past the fact that I had to chew every time I took a drink, I was fine.  The tapioca really didn’t have much taste, almost like a chewy ball of sugar.  Very chewy.  So chewy they stick to your teeth.

Fast forward to today. She bought one for both Ricky and I.  So sweet!   I get the drink from her and turn it upside down to see the boobs.  She swears that’s what they call them.  I laugh every time I say it or type it.  The drinks here have a really neat seal on the top so they won’t spill.  It is heat sealed to the edges.  So very cool.  I think we need these in the States.

They also give you a super wide straw to suck the boobs through.  “giggle giggle” 

There are tons in each drink.  I would say about 1/3 of the cup is filled with them. They are very generous with the boobs here.  They want to make sure you get a mouth full of boob with each drink.  HAHA  Okay, no more. I’m done.  I just can’t help myself.  This is what they look like in the straw.

So, if you can get past the fact that you must chew every sip of boob tea, then this is the drink for you.  I have to admit it is strange at first, but it kind of grows on you after awhile  If you like boobs, black tapioca boobs that is,  this tea is for you too!  Last one, I promise!!

3 Responses to “Boob Tea”


  1. 1 Meggy June 25, 2008 at 6:53 am

    I checked Wikipedia about the boob tea, they call it as “bubble tea”. Those black gummy balls are made of tapioca, we call “boba” in chinese. And I think “bubble tea” is a better name for it!!

  2. 2 Amy Figgins June 26, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    I have to agree with Meggy tht bubble tea is a MUCH better name. But I am sure all the men thouroughly enjiy being able to say some fo the above mentioned statements!!! Bet you never thought YOU would have a mouthful of boob!!!!

  3. 3 lilyriley June 26, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    Okay, I looked it up and it is bubble tea. I told Meggy that I would let everyone know. However, boob tea is way funnier! I will never forget the explanation I got when I was told that it was “boob” tea. So funny! So, let me recap. Bubble tea is the correct name, but boob tea is the local name!


Leave a Reply

