A Simple Reminder

 

I was given this cross today.  Amazing!  In a place where 93% of the population is Buddhist or Taoist, I find someone with this beautiful necklace.  It belonged to the sweet girl that works in the front office of the school.  I saw her wearing it this morning and it immediately caught my eye.  At first I was just drawn to it by it’s beauty.  Then, I thought about where I was and how unusual it is to see a cross, let alone someone wearing one.  It is actually the first cross I have seen except one at a Catholic Church in town.  This sweet girl speaks a little English and always makes a point to talk with myself and the kids. 

She came upstairs with us this morning.  We were all standing in the hallway and I told her that I thought her necklace was beautiful.  Meggy Mommy was standing there and told me she was Catholic.  It is actually the first Catholic person I’ve met here.  She started to take it off and told Meggy to tell me that she wanted to give it to me.  I was floored.  I couldn’t accept it.  I told her thank you, but I couldn’t take it.  She insisted.  I was touched by her kindness.  The people here are so giving.  It is so beautiful and something that I will definitely cherish.  See, the only jewelry I brought here was my wedding band and earrings.  I left everything else at home. 

Now I have something to wear to show my faith.  I love that!  Lily insisted on wearing it during school today but I promptly removed it when she was done.  I didn’t let her bring any of her jewelry either, so I will share.  I am sure that it will come up in conversations with the local people I’ve met here. I hope that it does.  I am so willing to share the love of God here with anyone that is ready to listen. 

I know that God sent this to me today as a simple reminder.  A reminder of how one nice comment can turn into something great.  A reminder that He is always with us no matter where we are.  A reminder of His son that He sent to die on the cross for our sins.  Thank you Lord for this simple reminder today!

But if from there you seek the Lord your God,

you will find Him if you look for Him with all your heart and all your soul.

Deuteronomy  4:29

2 Responses to “A Simple Reminder”


  1. 1 Chrisan Fields July 2, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    What a beautiful gift! So generous! You are lucky to have met such wonderful people.

  2. 2 Preeti August 19, 2008 at 2:29 am

    Very true….I was gifted a diamond cross on our wedding by my husband and yes,a beautiful cross which you can wear daily is a very precious gift.

    Preeti


Leave a Reply

