Lost in Translation

I have found the Taiwanese dollar store!  Erin told me about it last week and we finally found it yesterday on our way to get a new fan.  We were in hillbilly heaven!   They had everything you could be possibly need.  We went if for a spatula and came out with… a bucket, 2 nail files, a shower head, 2 fan covers(so Riley can’t stick anything in the new one), legos, and 3 reusable grocery bags. 

However, this story is about the spatula.  I just grabbed a plastic one, because I wouldn’t want to ruin the non stick surface on my expensive pan, and headed on out.  But when I got it out tonight to use it (don’t fall out of your seats, I cooked again!), I noticed the writing was in English.  At least, the words are in English.  I’ll let you decipher the meaning.  This is exactly what the sticker on the spatula says, punctuation and all.

Distinguishing Feature:

Not poisonous have no the smelly tasteless to bear the heat.

What?!?  Okay, not poisonous is a great way to start.  I am so glad about that!  That is always on my mind when I buy a kitchen utensil.  However, the rest of the “sentence” makes no sense to me.  Please, someone translate that for me in the comments.  I would love to hear your thoughts.  Oh, but it gets better.  There is a hang tag on the handle.  It says this,

The whole shape matches the human body to learn the design the usage without extra trouble.

This product integral whole takes shape the manufacturing to shed off in no case.

Seriously, what does that mean?  Anyone?  Anyone?  I have seen a lot of of funny English phrases, but this is just crazy.  Please leave a comment and give me your best translation.  I would love to hear what you think!

4 Responses to “Lost in Translation”


  1. 1 Alisa June 26, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    Wow! You would think their marketing department would have an english writer if they are going to try to write in English! 🙂 Let’s see…
    I’m guessing they are trying to say that it won’t have an odd odor when used with high heat (in the first part) and that it’s ergonomically designed for easier use? I’m also guessing if you don’t like it you can get your money back. That’s my best chinese/english back to english translation! Try putting that into babel fish and see what you get from them!

  2. 2 lilyriley June 26, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    I think you are right about the odd odor. That is good to know that it’s not poisonous AND doesn’t stink. I’ll have to test it out again adn see if the design makes it easier to use. Any spatula will work better than the fork I used to flip pancakes a couple nights ago =) Thanks for your input!

  3. 3 Meggy June 26, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    Hmm… Chinese style English!! Alisa used to live in Taiwan, so she probably could understand it! Her translation is so right! And the last part, maybe wants to tell “this whole product was made completely only at a time”, can you get it?

  4. 4 lilyriley June 26, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    HAHA Chinese style English! That is funny. I still don’t get the last part though. So confusing…


Leave a Reply

