With Love From Winnie Mommy

I found out something new about Winnie Mommy today, she is a licensed cook!  What can’t these women in Taiwan do?  She made lunch for all the teachers at school today.  She made chicken curry, rice, and a couple other dishes that I’m not sure the names.  One had some fish in it, one had pork, and one was a soup with eggs and corn. 

 

 Anyway, they offered me some, but I had just eaten.  I told them that chicken curry is Ricky’s favorite dish so far in Taiwan.  They immediately scooped him out a huge container full.

It was loaded with chicken leg meat, carrots, and potatoes.  The sauce is yellow, from the curry, and smells wonderful.  Meggy mommy also gave him a huge portion of sticky rice.  They said he is a strong baseball player and needs lots of food.  She shaped it so lovingly into a triangle.

I have to thank them for feeding Ricky for me.  I still have not mastered how to cook here without an oven.    Two burners and a microwave just don’t do it for me.  Ricky was so thankful to get a home cooked meal.  Well, at least one that didn’t involve cereal, pb&j, or potato chips! 

Before I left, Winnie Mommy made sure to tell me that it was made with love!  She pointed to her heart and drew it on her chest.  They are so silly!  I told her as long as none of that “love” was chopped up and put into the curry, then all is good. 

2 Responses to “With Love From Winnie Mommy”


  1. 1 Erin Pote June 27, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    They are just the sweetest ladies! How thoughtful.

  2. 2 Sherah June 28, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    Curry is one of our favorites here in japan too!! Jeff eats curry every day at the field. 😉 I guess curry makes a strong baseball player no matter where you are! haha


Leave a Reply

