A Lazy Sunday

The team had the day off today, so Ricky let me sleep in until 10:45!  It was a well needed rest and I appreciated it so much.  Then he laid back down to take a nap.  Boy, were we lazy this morning.  It was actually a beautiful day here today and we were going to try and go to the outdoor pool this afternoon.  I called Meggy Mommy to make sure they were open and they weren’t =(  We were so sad.  Hopefully we’ll have another nice day this week and get to go.  So we decided to head over to the Eslite bookstore where we had gone last week.

By the time we got there we were starving.  We were trying to find a restaurant called Cheffresh that supposedly has the best Western food in Tainan.  But we couldn’t find it.  We couldn’t even find anyone to help us find it.  So we headed over to an Italian restaurant across from the field.  Lou said that they have the best pizza, so we decided to try it out.

Our first server spoke no English.  Zip. Zero. Nada. None.  So, we pointed on the menu to get 2 cokes and 1 sprite.  He then kept standing at our table.  We told him that we weren’t ready yet.  He just stared.  Finally, he laid the ticket on the table and left.  Ten minutes and zero drinks later, Ricky goes to find him.  We again get the same blank stare.  He then leaves and brings back another server that spoke English.  Ah, much better.  At least during the 10 minute wait, we had some good reading.  My camera made the pics a little blurry, sorry, so I will interpret. 

That would be the salad choices.  You could have salad with 1000 Island Dressing Vinaigetter or salad with Japanese Dressing Vinaigetter. 

It didn’t matter what you called it, that salad was good!  Ricky had the 1000 Island Vinaigetter and I had the Japanese Dressing Vinaigetter.  Vinaigetter?!?  What in the world? 

Okay, on to some more funny things on the menu.  I don’t have pics of these because we didn’t order them.  Hmmmmm….I wonder why?

There is a delicious squid and tomato pizza or a tuna pizza.  Um, no thanks!  But they did have some regular ones as well.

How about some spaghetti in black squid sauce?

This was my favorite.  Just in case you don’t eat meat, they have vegewarian pasta. It’s the very last one on the list.  Ha!

I have to admit that the food made up for every single spelling error and strange food on the menu.  It was so good!  Let’s start it off with our cokes.  You can’t go wrong with coke in a glass bottle!

Then there was the pizza.  Oh my goodness.  We got a small cheese and a small spicy mexican.  We will be paying for this meal tomorrow, but it was soooooooooo good!  Yes, I know that so does not have ten o’s in it, but it was really that good!

What do you mean half the pizza is already missing in the pictures?  I was hoping you wouldn’t notice.  We snarfed it down (is snarf a word?) as soon as it hit the table.  Then I remembered to take pictures!  Sorry!

To top it off, they served us cheesecake for dessert?  Are you kidding me?  This has to be the best meal we’ve had in Tainan.  Hands down. No contest.  Winner!

We did make it back to the bookstore after dinner and had a great time.  We also walked over to the park. I have a few more pictures, but I’ll put them on the picture page.  I think you have had enough for today =)

We miss everyone back home!  I know I tell you that all the time, but we really do!

1 Response to “A Lazy Sunday”


  1. 1 Meemaw June 29, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    I wasn’t all that enchanted till I got down to the cheesecake………yummy!!! As you all know that is my most favorite dessert & I started salivating (like a dog)just looking at that picture. :O)
    Hugs & Kisses (chocolate)


Leave a Reply

