Worry

Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Matthew 6:34

I am so guilty of worrying.  I worry about everything from what will I eat for breakfast (that is a legit worry here) to my kids safety.  I worry about baseball.  I worry about finances.  I worry about…life.  It is in our nature.  We are worriers.  But friends, the bible tells us not to worry.  That is a pretty hard thing to do, at least for me. 

I have begun to replace my worries with thankfulness and prayer.  I find myself praying a whole lot more lately =)  Instead of worrying about Lily and Riley taking the school bus, I pray for their safety.  Instead of worrying about finances, I am thankful for all that we have right now and pray that He will continue to provide.  Instead of worrying about where we will be tomorrow, I praise God for where we are today.  It has made me realize how much time we spend worrying about tomorrow and things that are out of our control. Instead, be thankful for where you are today.  Be thankful for all the good things in your life today. 

Give thanks to the Lord Almighty, for the Lord is good, his love endures forever.

Jeremiah 33:11

5 Responses to “Worry”


  1. 1 Alisa July 3, 2008 at 3:15 am

    Thank you for this! I am quite a worrier too~ I needed to read this today

  2. 2 Amy Figgins July 3, 2008 at 4:01 am

    Amen to that!! Can you imagine if we took the time we normally waste on worrying, and spent it spending time with our Lord, what kind of relationship we could have with Him!!! I have found in life, that if we can put the worry aside and just let God take it, that He always rescues us. But it is so hard to surrender it all to Him. Usually, once I surrender, that is when God answers my prayers. That is all He was waiting for. We just have to give him that control.
    “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:6-7

    This made me think of you…
    Philemon 1: 4-7

  3. 3 omegetymon July 3, 2008 at 4:07 am

    I am known as dc relief. I have permission from Omegetymon to post under his name.
    I just wanted to say “thank you” for such an attractive page and the thought you put into it! The rich red, the tree green, and the white porch could easily be a bow on a package.

    I agree that “worrying is a lack of faith.” So I am going to add your family to my prayer list this weeek. Remember while you’re worrying, your children are learning what you know. They watch us. Have a good evening. DC

  4. 4 Erin Pote July 3, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    We all need to be reminded of this! Thank you. Have you ever read the book “Calm My Anxious Heart” by Linda Dillow? I read it in Japan and it was amazing. Her quote, “worry is like a rocking chair, it gives you something to do but gets you no where.” It is all about having faith that God will provide for you.

  5. 5 Jenny from Mommin' It Up! July 8, 2008 at 1:49 am

    awesome! love that last verse!


Leave a Reply

