Come To Me…

I was awakened this morning at 5:30.  I was not happy.  After an early morning yesterday, I was ready to sleep in today.  However, someone else had a different plan. 

I was awaken by the image of a sunrise.  Odd, I know.  I thought so too!  Oh, it was a beautiful sunrise.  I felt like I was being pulled out of bed.  God wanted me up.  I buried my head under the covers and asked for 5 more minutes.  Come on!  We’ve all done it.  But, he was very insistent and was not letting me go back to sleep.  So, reluctantly, I got up.

I stumbled downstairs and grabbed my bible and headed out on the deck.  Wow!  Thank you Lord for getting me out of bed this early.  It was breathtaking.  Here is a pic of when I first got outside.

I don’t know about you, but it’s been awhile since I’ve been up to watch the sunrise.  I am talking about just to watch the sunrise.  It is amazingly peaceful and refreshing. I just sat and listened to the birds chirping.  There were no children screaming and asking to play baseball or soccer.  There was no husband asking for something to eat.  There was no phone ringing.  God wanted me all to Himself this morning. That is something I haven’t gotten to have in awhile.  He wanted me to remember the importance of daily time set aside just for Him with no distractions.  Then he continued to paint me an amazing sunrise.

As I sat for the first hour of my day watching this beautiful day begin before me, I immersed myself in His word.  It was better than any cup of coffee I’ve ever had.  I feel energized and ready to start my day.  My spirit is renewed!

I know how hard it is to find time just for God in your daily life.  As a mom with two young children who are constantly in need of my attention, I find it hard to have 5 minutes to myself.  By the time they are in bed I am exhausted.  I struggle with this daily and I know how important it is.  God showed me today that we all have time in our lives for the things that are important to us, but sometimes you have to make the time.  Something might have to be cut out of your “schedule”, and it may even be an hour of sleep =)

So, thank you Lord for making my stubborn booty get out of bed this morning.  I pray that this post will encourage others to make time for You and only You throughout each day. 

Come to me…

Matthew 11:28

*EDIT*  Ricky just read this and said “So you really were up that early this morning?”  He thought I was being sarcastic when he crawled out of bed with Riley at 7 AM. Me? Sarcastic? Surely you have me mistaken with someone else.   Yes sir, I was up.  I even have the pictures to prove it =)

2 Responses to “Come To Me…”


  1. 1 Berna Pardue July 17, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    Thank you!!!!

  2. 2 Amy Figgins July 21, 2008 at 1:36 am

    What beautiful pictures! I once heard this analogy. If you are in the corner of a crowded room, and God was in the other corner, do you really think you would hear His soft whisper over all the other people? Sometimes thats all it is…a quiet whisper. God is not always going to yell or shout to us. Often we need to find a quiet place where we can really LISTEN to God. We need to take the time to clear our minds of all of life’s distractions and just focus on Him. I am so glad that God nudged you out of bed and gave you that time and place to spend only with Him!!!


Leave a Reply

