Overwhelmed

 Remember this:  Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously. Each man should give what he has decided in his heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.

2 Corinthians 9:6-7

I opened my bible last night at the hospital and turned to 2 Corinthians.  I flipped through and stopped at chapter 9.  I sobbed.  I cannot begin to thank everyone who has been here for us through this situation.  We feel so surrounded by love from all the prayers.  We even have prayers coming from Taiwan!  How cool is that?!?  The phone calls, emails, texts, prayers, food, and care for our children is overwhelming.  Just know that God loves a cheerful giver and you are all that to us!  To give us your prayers means more than anything in the world.

As far as an update is concerned, we are home.  Praise God! (kind of)  Ricky is so excited to be home and be with the kids.  However, I am a little on the anxious side as far as any more seizures go.  He is on medicine to control them, but they cannot guarantee anything.  I’m sure he will be so sick of my face after this ordeal because I will not let him out of my sight =)  Please pray that he remains seizure free this week and gets to enjoy relaxing at home with family.

We go to the neurosurgeon on Wednesday for our consultation.  Many of you asked where we are going and who the doctor will be.  His doctor is Dr. McPherson and he is with the Mayfield Clinic in Cincinnati.  We are so thankful that he took on our case and got us in so quickly.  The surgery is tentatively scheduled for Friday so we can get this out as soon as possible.  We’ll know more on Wednesday and I’ll update then.

I want you all to know that although we are overwhelmed by all of the kindness, love, and generosity that has been shown to us, we are calm about the tumor.  We know that God has had his hand in this the entire time and He is the almighty doctor. (or as Lily said tonight “Mom, God is so big his hands are over the whole world not just us”)  We know that through Him, Ricky will be healed completely.   Please continue praying and we know that they will be heard.

I can’t go without letting you know what we have to give thanks about.  I am so thankful that I was home when this happened.  I am thankful that I heard him grunting through the splashing of the kids in the tub.  I am thankful that God gave me the wisdom of how to handle the situation.  I am thankful that the paramedics got to the house quickly. (although it seemed like forever at the time)  I am thankful that the we are able to get into the neurosurgeon so quickly.  I am thankful for all of the love, kindness, and generosity of our friends and family.

Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

10 Responses to “Overwhelmed”


  1. 1 Erin Pote August 10, 2008 at 4:43 am

    Tracey, you are truly inspiring…an amazing wife, mother, caregiver, and friend. We are so grateful to have met you all here in Taiwan and believe me the prayers are coming at you from this corner of the world! We know that all the prayers will be heard and Ricky is going to make a full and speedy recovery.

  2. 2 Sherah August 10, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    Tracey, you are an amazing woman. I am inspired by your strength and courage and calmness. We are all praying for you all here from Japan and for a healthy recovery for Ricky.

    Much love!
    The Williams’

  3. 3 Alisa August 10, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    You know you are all in our prayers here, in AZ. You are such a strength and true support to your entire family and all of your friends!

  4. 4 Brian & Renee Estridge August 10, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    Ricky & Tracy, please know that you are in our thoughts and prayers.

  5. 5 Elaine McCoughan August 10, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    Hi Tracey, Ricky, and kids,
    I wanted to let you know that your family is in our prayers. Nicole told me about Ricky on Friday. I know that you are all in God’s hands and that Ricky will be healed. I wish I lived closer so that I could stay with the kids. I know Lily doesn’t remember me but she will always have a special place in my heart.
    Love to all!!!

  6. 6 Christi Ensberg August 10, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    Prayers are coming your way from California too. We love you guys and pray for the Lord’s peace to fill your lives at this time. Love, Morgan & Chris

  7. 7 Nazare and Mike Judd August 11, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    Ricky, Tracey and those beautiful kids, We were shocked, scared, saddened and now hopefull to hear of Ricky’s news and the bravery that you all had and continnue to have during this time. We will continue to keep you in our thoughts and prayers and please keep us all posted. Even though all of our friendships may be miles away, we are always thinking of you. Please give Ricky a big hug from us.

    Much Love and even more Prayers, Mike, Nazare’, Brady, Jarrett and baby Nazare’ Judd

  8. 8 Amy Figgins August 11, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    Wow. So many people really care for you guys!
    This is one of my favorite verses. I am sure ou have heard me say it before.
    “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perserverance. Perserverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything…Blessed is the man who perserveres under trial, because when he has stood the test, he will recieve the crown of life that God has promised to those who love him.”
    James 1:2-4 & 12
    Your faith and trust in God is shining more brightly than ever. Even thought their is a sadness here on earth, know that the Lord is deeply touched by your complete and total trust in Him. I can just see Him smiling!!!
    Love you all,
    Phil, Amy, Jacob, and Zoe

  9. 9 Heather LaRue August 11, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    Hi! I wanted to you to know our family will be praying for your from now on. I am so proud of you Tracey for being able to stay calm enough to do CPR you are a hero. I get the chills when the kids choke. You know your blessed when God works through your own hands.

    Love and prayers,
    Jason, Heather, Tyler, Dylan and Brayden

  10. 10 Roy and Nicole August 12, 2008 at 2:45 am

    Hey Guys,

    You are a constant prayer in my head! Although we have been talking 3,4,5 times a day these days, I still wanted to write and let you know I love you guys and can’t wait to see you. You both have been so strong through all of this and I know it is coming from the Lord. He is watching after you and giving you peace. See you soon! God Bless!

    Nicole


Leave a Reply

