We Walk By Faith

For we walk by faith, not by sight

2 Corinthians 5:7 

This verse was in my heart when I woke up this morning.  What a strong statement in so very few words.  When I stop to “see” what is in front of me, I am scared.  I’m not going to lie, this is very scary.  I am not scared of the tumor.  I know that it is benign and it will be taken out with ease.  I know that Ricky will be healed completely and he will be a stronger man from this whole ordeal.  But it’s still scary.

I know that God put this verse in my heart this morning.  He wants me to know that he can read my heart.  He knows of my worries and sadness.  He knows that I am scared.  He is here to comfort me with his words.  Friends, if we only walk by what we see, this is a scary and sad world.  We must walk by faith.  We must walk knowing that God is in control.  We must walk knowing that he is by our side ALWAYS!  We must walk with our eyes closed and our arms open.  I know that we must walk by faith through this situation if we are to make it through. 

Does that mean that I am not angry?  Does that mean that I don’t cry out to God and ask him why?  Does that mean that I understand?  Absolutely not.  God does not expect me to understand all that He does.  He does not expect me to not get angry and ask why.  He does not expect me to go through this alone. 

He does expect us to have faith.  He expects us to cry out and let him be the rock that we lean on.  He expects us to understand that He is here to listen to my cries.  He also expects us to know that if we put our faith in Him, Ricky will be healed.  He wants us to know that his hand is on us.  He wants us to know that he loves us.

As you go through life, try not to walk by what you see.  What you see does not matter in this world.  What you see can be scary.  Close your eyes and walk by faith.  Let God hold your hand and walk you through.  You will be amazed at the peace that will come over you when you know that God is walking with you.

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.

Joshua 1:9

4 Responses to “We Walk By Faith”


  1. 1 Clark Bunch August 12, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    These are encouraging words. Reading about this kind of faith is good for the rest of us.

  2. 2 Alisa August 12, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    Your faith is amazing. You remind all of us what is important. You are amazing to be a source of comfort and guidance for all of us with all you are in the midst of.

  3. 3 Kory Blum August 12, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    Beautifully put Tra, and so very true. May the Lord please your pen today as you write that essay. I am sure he will be watching over your shoulder like a proud father. Love you

  4. 4 Kim Berkemeier August 12, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    Tracy & Rick…you faith is amazing and that is what will pull you through all of the trials in life. They say “God won’t give you more than you can handle.” That’s so true, but only when we give “it” all to Him to handle for us. You are His and He will carry you through. Just climb up on His lap and give Him all your worries. We’re only a phone call away if you need us for anything. We love you guys!


Leave a Reply

