He Is Out of the ICU

Ricky is out of the ICU and tucked snug in his own private room at the hospital.  I have a recliner with a pillow and blanket tonight!  Praise God!  He is doing great and enjoyed a nice visit with his mom and dad tonight.  He is still not up for visitors or phone calls yet, but I will read every email and text to him. 

We will get to discuss the MRI results with Dr. McPherson on Monday.  Right now, they are working on the speech developmont with him.   The nurse tonight, who is the sweetest thing ever, just told us that the speech therapist will be in to talk with us over the next couple of days.  They will give me exercises to work with on him.  I’m sure we will get more information once we speak to her.

I wanted to give you a quick update on the family from last night.  As of 6 tonight, Haily was out of surgery and they had repaired some severe lacerations on her face.  She pulled through wonderfully and is healing very well.  Matthew opened his eyes this afternoon!!  He had some positive responsive movements earlier, but actually opened up his eyes.  God is good!  I will keep you updated on this precious family that God has put on my heart.

I will praise you, O LORD, with all my heart;
       I will tell of all your wonders.

Psalm 9:1

3 Responses to “He Is Out of the ICU”


  1. 1 Jennifer Everett August 23, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    Stone Family, I am so proud of you all. You are truley an inspiration to so many people. I tell everyone I meet your story. The love you’re whole family shares is apparent, and I pray for the challenges ahead. We miss you all. Love, The Everetts

  2. 2 Alisa Figueroa August 24, 2008 at 1:24 am

    Oh Tracey, we are so glad to hear that Ricky is out of ICU. We are also thrilled to hear the progress of Matthew and Hailey! It sounds like G-d has put his arms around all of you there and is holding you close and protecting you. Curl up in your Heavenly Father’s arms! Let Him hold you and care for you all!

  3. 3 Doug Bochtler August 25, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    Can you tell Ricky that I am praying for him. My wife asked if I knew who he was and told me what was going on from the MLB Wives site and I was shocked. I will also be praying for you as I know these times are tough.

    I pray for peace and healing for both of you.

    Doug Bochtler


Leave a Reply

