Tired Saturday

Good morning!  Kalynn and I had a GREAT night last night in the waiting room.   No really, we slept about an hour each on the most comfortable plastic couch with no cushioning EVER!  The wooden arm rests added to the extreme comfort.  However, the most important thing was that Ricky slept great.  He had a peaceful night and got lots of rest.

I went in to go see him at 8 this morning.  He really wouldn’t open up his eyes or talk to me.  He was sleeping so I just let him be.  The nurse was having me fill out a form for his MRI when Dr. McPherson walked in to see Ricky.  Ricky was then bright eyed and all smiles.  He is so trying to charm his way home!!  He did great with all of the fine motor skills.  He was able to squeeze his hands, wiggle his toes and fingers, and give a thumbs up.  He even got up and walked to the wheelchair to go for his MRI!  It is truly amazing.

The speech part is still very slow to recover, which the Dr. McPherson assured me was normal.  He asked him his name and he could not answer.  He then asked and his last name and Ricky answered “Stone”.  He asked his first  name and he got that right too.  When he asked him my name, I told him to be sweet and gave that little smirk.  He thought and then said “Ricky”.  The doctor told him that was his name and my name is Tracey.  He is getting very frustrated because he knows what he wants to say but can’t get it out.  Dr. McPherson told me that this is very normal and it will just take some time.  He said that we must speak slowly to him and give him time to answer.  He said to use hand gestures and be patient. 

They are very happy with his progress and are moving him out of the ICU this afternoon.  He will be here until at least Monday, depending on his the rest of his recovery.  Please pray for his speech to return  quickly and pray for him to have patience until it does.  I can only imagine how frustrating it is for him.

On a side note, he chose a new song to hum this morning.  He was humming “Amazing Grace”.  I asked him if he wanted me to sing and he squeezed my hand for yes.  So I sang it.  Badly.  He smiled when my voice cracked.  I so know what he would have said if he could.  Needless to say, I will not be singing Amazing Grace to him anymore.  Geez, Ricky.  How about “Jesus Loves Me” or something a little bit easier.  HAHA

I will update again after we get moved this afternoon.

Love,

Tracey

4 Responses to “Tired Saturday”


  1. 1 Heather Skelton August 23, 2008 at 11:00 am

    Hi Tracey,
    It is amazing how quickly he appears to be recovering! That is wonderful! We will definitely be praying that his speech returns quickly (and I feel confident it will)and for the patience to deal with it while it returns!
    In our prayers,
    Heather and Ray

  2. 2 janeen August 23, 2008 at 11:19 am

    Tracey, We are so very happy to hear this awesome news! You and your family will continue to be in our thoughts and prayers. Also, Ricky is so lucky to have such a Great Wife! Love, Janeen Duckworth

  3. 3 Alisa Figueroa August 23, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    We are so glad to hear that all is going so well! I am laughing and crying as I share this with Nelson and Renee. We’ve all been praying for you guys and will add PATIENCE to the prayers! 🙂 I bet you sang fantastically – men are so picky!

  4. 4 Sherah August 24, 2008 at 10:39 am

    Tracey,
    I am so amazed at how well he is doing already. He is strong and has God’s hands on him clearly. And YOU too. You are such a rock. I pray for you all for continued recovery and patience 😉 through this all! Thank you for keeping us all up to date!!!
    Love, The Williams’


Leave a Reply

