Thankfulness

My heart is bursting with thankfulness today.  Some of you may be confused at that statement.  I know that.  However, it is so true.  The Lord is teaching me how to pull His goodness out of a bleak situation.  He is showing me how to focus on all the positive aspects of this situation. 

I am thankful that Ricky’s tumor was operable.

I am thankful that he remained seizure free for the two weeks at home.

I am thankful that he was so positive during the two week waiting time.

I am thankful that my kids have been well taken care of during this time.

I am thankful that the surgery was successful.

I am thankful that he was out of ICU in less than 24 hours. (AMAZING)

I am thankful that I met a precious family in the waiting room that needed my support just as I needed theirs.

I am thankful that through my blog they had more people to pray for them.

I am thankful that Ricky is able to walk.

I am thankful that Ricky is able to think clearly and  understand all that is said to him.

I am thankful that  he was able to say his full name this morning with no assistance =)

I am thankful that he was able to laugh at his speech mistakes this morning instead of getting angry with himself.

I am thankful that he is most likely coming home…TOMORROW

I am thankful that God has put all of you in our lives.

I hope that today, you will take the time to sit down and think about all the good that God is doing in your life.  We are so inclined to focus on the wants and needs in our lives instead of the I haves.  Be thankful for all that you have.

We love you all!

Tracey

Praise the LORD.  
       Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good;
       his love endures forever.

Psalm 106:1

8 Responses to “Thankfulness”


  1. 1 Missy August 24, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    I am so happy that Ricky is doing so well….and you seem to be doing amazing!!! Tracey you have such an amazing heart…you and Ricky!! Thank you for keeping everyone updated. The Lord is good and we do need to thank Him everyday for the joys in our lives!! I love you guys!!

  2. 2 Cindy August 24, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    Our God is an Awesome God! What an amazing testimony . . .thank you for sharing. It’s easy to focus inward instead of on all of God’s blessings.

    Cindy
    http://adopttaiwan.wordpress.com

  3. 3 Erin Pote August 24, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    An amazing post Tracey! We all definitely need to be reminded of what we have in this life and be thankful for it. Ricky is truly making a remarkable recovery. It’s great to hear that he is going easy on himself and not getting too frustrated.

  4. 4 Alisa Figueroa August 24, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    We are so thrilled to hear all that is good with you guys! Your post is so true and you are truly AMAZING!

  5. 5 Rick Sweet August 24, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    You are both such an inspiration for all of us. Thank you for all that you have done for us.

  6. 6 Steve and Karena Sisco August 24, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    Rickey, Tracey,
    I am so encouraged to hear of Ricky’s progress. May our Lord continue to encourage your hearts and strengthen Ricky’s body. My name is Steve Sisco, I am the chapel leader for the Reds. You have been covered by many prayers in chapel and in bible studies, as well as personal prayers that players have shard with me. My wife Karena works along side Carrie Moyer (women’s chapel leader for the Reds) and I know they would like me to say that we are all available to serve you any way we can. God’s Grace be with you both.

  7. 7 Nicole & Ryan Vogelsong August 25, 2008 at 3:17 am

    Our God is AMAZING! We are praying for you all and thinking of you!

  8. 8 The Diehls August 25, 2008 at 7:47 am

    We are so thankful that Ricky is doing so well. You have been so strong through all of this! The Lord will never give us more than we can handle – with his help of course! You are constantly in our thoughts and prayers!


Leave a Reply

