Faith

Such a small word with such deep meaning.  I was contemplating  the word faith this morning and what it means to me.   I love Hebrews 11:1.  I have this verse hanging in my kitchen.  I see it every day and it makes me smile. 

Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.

Hebrews 11:1

I read that verse and it really got me thinking this morning.  I broke it down into two parts.  First, faith is being sure of what we hope for.  Well, that part is easy.  We hope for complete healing for Ricky.  If that’s all that faith was about, then everyone would be on board 100%.  Everyone knows what they hope for in life.

The next part is a little bit tricky though.  Faith is also being certain of what we do not see.  That is just flat out hard to do sometimes.  We do not see the end result.  God does.  We do not know for certain how the future will unfold.  God does.  We do not know the plans for our future.  God does.

That is where our faith must remain rock solid.  Even though we cannot see past what is in front of us, we must have faith that God does.  We must believe that God knows of his plans for us and sees past this very minute.  He knows the plans He has for Ricky.  He knows the plans He has for me.  Even though we cannot see past this hard stage of recovery right now, we must have faith and be certain of what we cannot see. 

And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him

Hebrews 11:6

How scary is that?  If we don’t have faith, we are not pleasing God. It’s not enough for me to say that we know that God is going to heal Ricky.  We must BELIEVE it with our whole hearts.  We must BELIEVE in Him and His power.  God knows what is in your heart.  We may not understand why this is going on and why we must walk through these trials in our life, but we must have faith and believe.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.

Proverbs 3:5-6

2 Responses to “Faith”


  1. 1 Alisa August 31, 2008 at 1:04 am

    Were you in my head tonight?! It is so hard to BELIEVE when we can’t see the end. How true that is for certain! When I get overwhelmed these days I hear Lily telling you, “Don’t worry, G-d is so big he has his arm around this one”. I believe that Ricky will be healed and you will all be the better for all that this has brought to you! We’re here if you need us!
    Alisa, Nelson and Renee


  1. 1 One Year Ago… « For we walk by faith, not by sight Trackback on August 7, 2009 at 9:40 am

Leave a Reply

