What a Week It’s Been =)

I just wanted to write an update on Ricky’s progress this week.  I can’t thank you all enough for all of the phone calls, emails, and cards we’ve gotten in the mail.  I am in the process of writing out thank you cards, but please know that we appreciate everything that everyone has done for us.

As you know, this week has been one of trials.  We have had to deal with the side effects of medicine and swelling, and it was rougher than what we thought it would be.  That combined with the frustration of speaking made for a very agitated husband.  I couldn’t have made it through this week without all of my prayer warriors.  God truly granted me strength to make it through the week.  He also gave me the wisdom on how to deal with the situation at hand to make it easier for Ricky.  So I am pleased to announce the amazing progress he has made. 

First of all, we made it to church this morning.  Are you kidding me?!?  If you would have told me that 9 days after surgery I would have my arm around Ricky’s back and listen to him sing during praise and worship, I would have laughed.  It was wonderful.  My heart was filled with love.  Love for my husband.  Love for God.  Love. 

 Last week at this time he couldn’t even say his full name.  Last week at this time he said he was at the airport even though his mind knew he was in the hospital.  Last week at this time he knew his children’s names, but couldn’t speak them.  Last week at this time he could hum praise and worship songs, but could not sing the words.

Today he was able to tell his children to have a good time at Sunday School.  He was able to tell them he loved them.  He was able to sing to the Lord that has blessed us.  He was able to praise Him for the blessings in our life.  He was able to have small conversations with friends at church. 

So the update is a great one.  His speech is returning, but not without a lot of prayer and hard work.  He will continue to go to therapy three days a week and has homework every night.  I see the little improvements and praise him for them. 

It is so easy to forget the trying times in life.  We tend to quickly forget how bad some trials in life can be.  The Lord will not let us forget.  He wants us to remember how bad it can be, so we are grateful for all we have now.  Lord, I am so grateful for You!  I am so grateful for the abundant blessings in our life.  May we continue to give You the glory!!

*A friend sent me this verse this morning and it really spoke to me.  It doesn’t really go with my post, but I just wanted to share it with all of you.  I feel like this time in our life is about waiting for the good that is to come from this trying time.  So we will wait, but in the meantime we use His word for our hope.

I wait for the Lord, my soul waits, and in His word I put my hope. 

Psalm 130:5

1 Response to “What a Week It’s Been =)”


  1. 1 Andi Maggard September 2, 2008 at 11:19 am

    It was so great seeing you sunday. You guys are amazing. Ricky looked so good. Thinking of you everyday.


Leave a Reply

