Riley’s First Day of School

Today was Riley’s first day of preschool…kind of.  He did technically go to school in Taiwan, but I consider this his real first day.  I mean, at least here everyone speaks English.  He had vanilla wafers and orange slices for snack at school instead of tofu and noodles.  Here he is with his first day of school breakfast.  He chose O’s.  I am not complaining.  That was way easier than Lily’s smiley face pancakes and eggs.

Yes, he is just as stinking rotten as he looks!!!

He had to have a new backpack and of course he wanted one that is way too big for him.  So here he is with his Spiderman backpack made for a sixth grader.

Here he is from the front.  Yes, I know he does not match.  However, my three year did not care that the camo shorts were way cuter than the faded navy blue shorts that are too small.  It was not worth the fight. Trust me.

Seriously, have you ever seen a little guy so darn cute?  I wish you could see the shiner under his left eye. It didn’t show up well in any of the pictures.   It just adds to his toughness.  That along with his scar from stitches and the other scar that really needed stitches.  He is rough and tough.

Here he is with Daddy.  Such a proud papa!

.

This final picture is so funny.  He was sitting down for his snack and I had to snap a last picture.  He was pulling his shirt up over his face and said “Moooommmmm.  You embarassin’ me.”

After I took the picture, he told Lily and I, “Get out of here!”  Such a sweet way to tell me that he is ready to be a big boy and go to preschool.  He had a great day and did greet me with a big hug when I got there to pick him up.  I guess my little guy is all grown up =(

2 Responses to “Riley’s First Day of School”


  1. 1 Erin Pote September 2, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    Just looking at him makes me smile! He is so full of life. He has that constant grin on his face! Glad it all went so well and that he enjoyed his snack! Conor told me the other day he was eating his noodles and then saw a fishbone in his bowl. Where do they come up with these things?

  2. 2 Alisa September 2, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    Oh what a great day! He has a ton of personality and it really shines through! I’m glad he had such a great first day of school!


Leave a Reply

