Angels

So I just laid the kids down for the night.  We have an early day tomorrow because we are walking the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Walk in the morning in memory of Jenn Carter. I had mentioned her battle with breast cancer to many of you, and she lost her battle less than a month ago.  She left behind a husband and five children.  Please say a prayer for her family tonight. 

We have to leave at about 7:15, so the kids HAD to go to bed.  Ricky laid Riley down and Lily wanted me to lay with her for a few minutes and “talk.”  She could barely keep her eyes open, but she fought the urge just to spend that time alone with me.  It is so sweet and such a special time.

The conversation didn’t last long tonight.  She told me that she loves the Cheetah Girls now and that really was about it.  She even said lets stop talking and just rub my back.  I thought she was asleep until her sleepy eyes opened up and looked at me.  She had something else to say…

“Mom, do you remember the time that I wanted you to stay in my bed and rub my back all night long?”

Me:  Of course Lily.  You know that I as much as I would love to, I can’t stay in your bed all night.

“Well, that night it was ok.  The angel came in and rubbed my back all night long so I wouldn’t miss you.”(Do you have goosebumps?  I do!)

Me:  Lily that is so amazing.  God is so sweet that he sends angels to comfort us when we need them.  He really love us so much.

Okay, I don’t know about you, but that really just amazes me.  The innocence of a five year old that has no reason not to mention the fact that an angel comforted her in a time when she needed it.  How wonderful is it that she KNEW it was an angel.  I am just speechless…almost

I know that through the words of a five year old, I will pay closer attention to the times when I am in need of comfort.  Sometimes His word comforts me.  Sometimes my prayers comfort me.  Sometimes the angels comfort me.  It is just proof how much He loves us and truly knows when we are in need.  I just pray for the Carter Family to be surrounded by angels tonight as they prepare to walk for their angel tomorrow. 

For he shall give his angels charge over thee, to keep thee in all thy ways

Psalm 91:11

0 Responses to “Angels”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

