God is Good

Okay, so we found out that we have an option to stay home during radiation!!!  Isn’t God so good?  The past couple of days I’ve been on the phonewith so many people weighing our options.  Of course, we want the absolute best treatment facility and if that place is in Houston, then we are there.  However, after speaking with the doctors and some people at MD Anderson, we found out that staying home is an option.  As long as there are no extra special circumstances involved with the radiation, then they see no reason to move to Houston for that time just for the radiation.

So where do we stand as far as treatment?  Dr. Yung from MD Anderson will still be Ricky’s primary neuro oncologist.  I have a number to reach him or the nurse practioner at any time during the radiation.  We will fly to Houston three weeks after radiation is complete and have a follow up MRI and meet with Dr. Yung.  They will then reassess the tumor and he said most likely start chemo.  I guess that depends on how well the tumor responds to the radiation.  We will then travel to Houston every two months for an MRI and doctor’s appointment.

Ricky has another MRI scheduled for Monday and then simulated radiation on Tuesday at a facility just about 20 minutes away. They need to simulate the radiation and make a mesh mask that hardens and freezes his head in the exact position it needs to be in for radiation.  Once the treatments begin, he will go Monday through Friday for 33 treatments.  So we are looking at six and a half weeks of radiation. 

Dr. Yung also suggested that we find an oncologist here that can work in conjunction with him.  That way if we have any immediate concerns, we have someone close to home.  So I have been working on that a little bit today.  I have a few names that I need to research. 

I am so thankful that we are going to get to stay home.  There is nothing like being around your family, friends, church, and own home when you are sick.  I just feel that his journey through the radiation will be so much easier without the stresses of moving and being away from home. 

I found this verse today and it made me say “Amen” outloud.  We all have a course that we would love to follow in life.  Plans are made for the future.  You think you have it all figured out.  Then the Lord steps in.  Let’s just say that obviously our course did not involve any of this.  I know that it may not make sense now, but it does to Him.  He does have it all figured out.  His plans for us are amazing.  We must follow the steps that He has laid out even if they are not the ones we had chosen. 

In his heart a man plans his course, but the LORD determines his steps.

Proverbs 16:9

4 Responses to “God is Good”


  1. 1 Melissa September 27, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    What a praise! I’m so glad to hear that you guys will be able to stay home. 🙂 Hopefully we’ll see you tomorrow!

  2. 2 Erin P. September 28, 2008 at 10:25 am

    Wonderful news Tracey! This must be such a weight lifted off your shoulders.

  3. 3 Diane September 28, 2008 at 1:35 pm

    I just read your entry on the website re: Dr. Yung. My husband was diagnosed with a GBM IV on June 6, 2003. We started at Sloan Kettering but happened to change to MD Anderson in 2004. I can’t say enough great things about Dr. Yung . . . he is absolutely the best in the world. He has always taken time to answer all our questions, and when I asked him what if one thing did’t work – he always gave us hope – that something else would. We are humbled that my husband has had clear MRIs for the past couple of years. But I wanted to let you know that MD Anderson and Dr. Yung are very close to our hearts. Good luck to you and your family and know that Dr. Yung is the very best person and doctor you could find!

  4. 4 Lisa Barnett September 30, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    Tracey, please email me directly so I can give you all of the information I have. This is what Dana emailed me. My address is lbmbarnett@yahoo.com. Talk to you soon,
    Lisa


Leave a Reply

