I Am Still Here

Just wanted to let everyone know that I am still here but I’ve been stuck in the world of organic food and juicing.  It’s not a bad place to be, but it is very time consuming.  I have so much to write about and no time.  I’ll give you the brief synopsis…

Ricky went for an MRI yesterday and had a CT scan today.  He also had his mask made at the radiation facility.  That was so very interesting.  They heat up a plastic net like substance and stick one piece behind his head and one on his face.  It cools and molds to fit his head exactly so he can’t move AT ALL.  He will be in the mask for about 20 to 30 minutes for each of the 33 treatments.  He tolerated it fairly well.  We found out that he can bring in CD’s  and they will play them for him during his treatment.  We thought that was really neat so at least he can listen to his favorite music during that time.

Riley is doing great in school.  He loves going and still doesn’t understand why he can’t ride the bus with sissy every morning.  He is going two mornings a week right now but will go five mornings once the radiation begins. 

Lily is doing awesome in Kindergarten.  She LOVES her teacher and school.  She is doing great in gymnastics and just got bumped up to the next level.  She got her back handspring last week and wants to do them all the time at home.  She definitely still needs a mat as she lands on her head quite often =)

That is about it for right now.  I leave you with one of my favorite verses right now.  It is one that I find myself saying quite frequently and it even came up in our small group bible study tonight. 

Goodnight friends…

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

2 Corinthians 12:9

2 Responses to “I Am Still Here”


  1. 1 The Figueroa Family October 1, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    Wow. Ricky is one brave man. I love that he can listen to his own music while he has his treatments done.
    We are so PROUD of Lily and her backhandsprings! Way to go on that girl!
    Riley, is such a big guy to be ready for 5 days of preschool. Wow!
    And you my friend, always amaze me. I’ll need some juicing and organic cooking lessons (in all your free time)!
    As always, you are all in our prayers.

  2. 2 Bobby Livingston October 2, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    If you could this message to Ricky would greatly appreciate it..Rick just wanted to let you know that were praying for the Lords will in this whole deal. I know your a strong minded person and sounds like you have a wonderful wife and family looking out for you. I’ve been really touched by the amount of reponce everyone has been giving, shows what you’ve done in other peoples lives and how you’ve affected them. Your a good man. Me and Amber are praying for you and your family, and will do anything we can to help. Stay strong in the Lord, I know he will pull you thorugh this. I know we don’t always understand Gods will or why things happen but I promise you it’s better than anything we can imagine. I know things will work out and just remember your in the hearts and prayers of a lot of people. Love you bro, take care and thanks for everything. Bobby Livngston


Leave a Reply

