Riley and The Chocolate Chip Muffins

Riley has really been missing his chocolate chip muffins since we started our new way of eating.  He has asked for them every time I bust out the banana carrot peanut butter muffins.  He likes those too, but not as much as the chocolate chip.  So I got out my new recipe book Deceptively Delicious and found a recipe for some.  I made them yesterday morning and hid them away for breakfast this morning. 

So last night before bed, I let them know that there were going to be chocolate chip muffins for breakfast in the morning.  Riley screamed in excitement.  Seriously people, he screamed.  He jumped up and down.  He laughed hysterically.  He was cracking me up.  So, at 7:50 they were tucked in tight off to dreamland.  Or so I thought.

I came upstairs at 9:15 and checked on them. Lily was out cold.  Riley was still awake.  I tucked him back in and told him he needed to get to sleep if he wanted the chocolate chip muffins in the morning.  He shrilled with delight and laid his little head down.  I went to lay down. 

 At 10:15 Ricky went to check on them.  Next thing I know he plops Riley in bed with me and Ricky heads off to the spare bedroom.  Riley was STILL wide awake.  I started rubbing his back and asked him why he was still awake.  Guess what!?!  He was so stinking excited about the chocolate chip muffins that he couldn’t sleep.  He made sure that he was still going to get one in the morning and eventually drifted off to sleep.   There will be no mention of chocolate tonight before bed.

So, if any of you have any great organic low sugar recipes that involve chocolate, please share.  My son is deprived and he misses his chocolate.  So deprived that he stays up three hours past his bedtime thinking about chocolate chip muffins.

2 Responses to “Riley and The Chocolate Chip Muffins”


  1. 1 Erin P. October 2, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    That is hysterical! Sounds like me when I found out we were leaving Taiwan…I was so excited for the food back home I couldn’t sleep! The difference is I am a grown woman. Oh well! I still dream of chocolate.

  2. 2 The Figueroas October 4, 2008 at 10:25 am

    Tracey, I know that you can use carob to replace chocolate chips. I’ll look up some of my Kosher parve recipes and maybe you can change some of the ingredients to be low sugar/organic. I love that he was so excited! Little things really do make us happiest, don’t they?!


Leave a Reply

