1 Day Down, 32 To Go =)

The first radiation treatment is FINALLY over!!  I have to say that I was so impressed with Ricky’s attitude today.  The radiation itself lasted 20 minutes, so not as long as he thought it would.  When he was finished, he came out with a huge smile on his face.  I loved the mesh imprints that were left from the mask!!  It looked like pillow creases after a good nap.

He was a little disappointed because he couldn’t play his cd’s.  I’ll have to get the scoop tomorrow, but he thinks that they are using a different room then they thought they were going to use.  He said that the machine was really loud and just kept moving around his head.  He just closed his eyes and did some deep breathing and prayer to get through it.  He said that there is no way that he can move his head during treatment.  The mask is bolted to the table.  

He was feeling great afterwards and when we got home he noticed our neighbors were getting ready to put in a new tree.  I was in the kitchen making dinner and next thing I know he’s  digging next door with a shovel.  He went over and helped them plant the tree.  I was so glad to see him with so much energy and doing something that he enjoys.   

I do have to say that last week was a rough week. It is amazing how quickly things can go downhill when you let the enemy in your mind and in your home.   Our sermons at church have been about how easily the enemy can “twist” situations.  It is so true!!!  He “twisted” us last week, but we straightened him out this week.  I can already tell this week is going to be soooooo much better. 

This following verse really spoke to me tonight.  I may have already used it before, but it’s such a great verse!  We must remember to keep God in our lives at all times.  Whether it be reading your bible in some free moments, praying while your driving, or even playing worship songs in your home.  You must always keep God and His words close to you.  It is amazing how He can carry you through the tough times.  Even times when the enemy can get in and “twist” your world.  Remember…

Remain in me, and I will remain in you.

John 15:4

8 Responses to “1 Day Down, 32 To Go =)”


  1. 1 Amy Figgins October 13, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    I really needed to hear this today. Thank you so much. I am glad things went well today.

  2. 2 Erin Pote October 13, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    I’m so glad to hear today went well! Good for Ricky for keeping a positive attitude. So much of these hurdles are going to be mental. He is strong in his faith and mind and he will make it through this!

  3. 3 Ruth Bronoske October 13, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    Monday Night

    Hi Tracey,

    Wow….it is soooo interesting to see how much OUR lives parallel with yours!

    Last week was a very, very tough week with us too! The enemy got us good!!!!

    First of all, we had just finally taken a sigh of relief, because it looked like I was bouncing back….and then BAM! I was suddenly besieged with a few days of debilitating pain…and a lot of weakness.

    My appt. with the doctor on Friday was extremely frustrating. SO MANY THINGS were wrong with me, between the results from the blood workup, the E.C.G. and ultrasounds. I was quite discouraged! As they hooked me up to an I.V., I started sobbing….and sobbed through the entire treatment. I just felt so terribly overwhelmed by the ‘fight’ that I have ahead of me to stay alive–coupled with the fact that I’m feeling so tired of fighting.

    The treatment didn’t make me as sick this time….but for some reason, I was a bit more ‘needy’ than I’ve ever been. I did a lot of crying on Friday. I needed Tracy to hold me…..and sing to me…..and massage me…..much more than any of the other treatments. She was incredible! I am truly blessed that God put her in my life to take care of me.

    I was so discouraged by how weak and shaky I was this weekend. I couldn’t stop crying! This is sooooo unlike me, but for some reason, Ray didn’t handle the crying very well. That’s when Satan REALLY got a hold of the two of us! We actually FOUGHT ALL NIGHT Saturday night!

    Praise God, my husband woke up Sunday morning (we DID get a few hours of sleep) feeling so ashamed by the things that he said to me that he grabbed hold of Randy Adams at Church and asked him to pray with us. And THAT’S when our Lord and Savior ungripped Satan’s grasp on us, and Ray and I have been standing strong against Satan ever since!

    Did you notice how absolutely gorgeous it was today?!!!! Fall has finally arrived, and earlier this evening we drove around ‘taking in’ God’s tremendous ‘gift’ to us. Oh how wonderful our God is, to ‘gift us’ Autumn again and again every single year!

    In Him and His TREMENDOUS strength….which will carry us through these dark days,

    Ruth

  4. 4 Alisa October 14, 2008 at 11:10 am

    I am so glad to hear that Ricky (as he always seems to be) was in good faith and humor even with the day he had! How symbolic that he helped to plant a tree, to root new life into the world rather than focus on the negative that he could have. Both of you are so incredible. I thank G-d daily that I have your family in my life and my heart!

  5. 5 Ricky Sweet October 14, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    Always honored to be part of your life and all that is envolved. I think of you both often and look forward to getting back to Louisville so that we can hook up. Nothing i look foward to more. God bless you both and all you do for others.

  6. 6 Pam October 15, 2008 at 6:57 am

    My family and I continue to pray for you each night. I am glad that the first treatment went well. I pray that they all go that well and that between prayer and medicine you beat this disease. I really enjoyed having both of you in the classroom on Tuesday. You were a tremendous help and I know the chlldren loved having you help. Hopefully that was a great diversion! I know they keep me smiling. Keep the faith and stay strong!
    Pam

  7. 7 Colleen Endres October 15, 2008 at 10:23 am

    Tracey… On those days when you’re feeling a little down… and you don’t post on your blog… those are the days that I especially lift you in prayer. I check on your progress every day and I’m so blessed by your witness. God is using you in all of this… even the days that are a challenge. I LOVE YOU GUYS!

  8. 8 Nicole Vogesong October 17, 2008 at 9:43 am

    Your blog is such a testimony to God’s faith! There are days I read the blog and just want to cry; at the same time, my faith is renewed by each and every post. You are all in our prayers!


Leave a Reply

