A Glimpse Into My Kitchen

I just have to show yall what my countertop looks like when I get home from the grocery store.  Ricky went with me today to gain an understanding of how much time and effort goes into the cooking and juicing I’m doing.  He was amazed at how much planning it takes!

Here is my island.  Missing from the picture are two heads of cauliflower, two heads of broccoli,  and one bunch of kale.  They were already put into the fridge in the garage and forgotten about.  The bags to the right are red and green leaf lettuce.  The bag to the left is a 25 pound bag of juicing carrots!

Next I have my countertop of vitamins.  On Fridays, I get them all out and fill up his containers for the week.  He takes vitamins and supplements at all meals.  He has two liquid supplements  and one pill that he must take inbetween meals.  It is a lot of pills.  In all, he takes 24 pills daily.  He also has two supplements that are liquid.  One he takes only once per day, the other he takes three times.  I have to say that I am extremely impressed with his pill taking ability.  Seriously.  He has not complained one time. 

Next we have the juicing station.  This is where a lot of the fruits and vegetables go.  Here is a nice, cold glass of carrot, apple, kale, celery, beet, and spinach juice.  Hold on, the line forms to the left.  No pushing and shoving needed!!  There is plenty for everyone.

I know, it looks gross.  It even smells gross. However, he has three glasses of this per day.   Sometimes I mix it up and throw an orange in there or throw in some cabbage.  Once again, he has not complained one time.  Okay, one time when I made straight up beet juice with some ginger, he gagged.  He didn’t complain, just gagged.  I tried it and gagged too.  So I threw in apple.  Still gagged.  It was somewhat drinkable with two apples, but still questionable.  However, he sucked it up and drank it all. 

I have really enjoyed learning this new way of cooking though.  On top of all the veggies and fruits that he drinks and supplements he takes, I still add veggie and fruit purees in a lot of my food.  We had macaroni and cheese made with cauliflower puree and butternut squash puree the other night.  It was amazing!!!  I just feel so much better about what I am feeding not only Ricky, but myself and the kids as well.

On a sidenote, treatment went very well this week.  5 down and 28 to go!  We met with the doctor today and he is pleased with everything so far.  His incision line still looks good and he said that he looks great!  It was a very encouraging appointment.

Thank you all for the continued prayers!  They have continued to keep us strong.

Love,

Tracey

5 Responses to “A Glimpse Into My Kitchen”


  1. 1 Erin Pote October 17, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    I know the time, effort and dedication this takes Tracey! You are amazing for doing this. Great job!!!

  2. 2 Ricky Sweet October 17, 2008 at 11:09 pm

    I’m impressed with all the cooking and Juicing you are doing but drinking some of it is going beyond Tracey. You are a great wife to share in this with Ricky. One of the things i always was most impressed and appreciated about Ricky is the fact he never complained he just meets challanges head on and beats them just like this one. Thinking of you both

  3. 3 Alisa October 18, 2008 at 10:12 am

    Wow! What an amazing job you’re doing! Ricky has a great attitude, too!

  4. 4 Sherah W. October 18, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    That IS some dedication! And btw….you’re hilarious….”the line forms to the left”. 😉 I do think I’m inspired to incorporate some juicing into our routine. You are so right about thinking about what goes into our bodies!

  5. 5 Carrie C October 22, 2008 at 10:09 am

    I feel strange tracking your blog because it’s the only one I read of a person I never met before. I used to babysit for the Ensbergs and Everetts and the Blums 😉 and was really taken when Christi told me about your husbands situation so I feel compelled to stay updated. Thank you for allowing me to pray for you guys.


Leave a Reply

