17 Down =)

I am so excited to say that we are beyond the halfway mark through treatment.  Yesterday was treatment number 17, so 16 more to go.  Yay!!!

We met with the radiation oncologist yesterday and he was thrilled with how Ricky is looking and feeling.  He noticed his patch of missing hair and told him, “Oh!  That will get bigger!”  Ricky just laughed.  He was not surprised that his speech had improved and told us that the beginning of radiation can increase the swelling.  He said that as his fatigue gets worse through the rest of the treatments, his speech will most likely decline a little as well.  As long as there are no more dramatic decreases like we saw last time, it’s nothing to be concerned about.  It looks like we will be heading to Houston mid December for our follow up MRI and to meet with Dr. Yung.  We continue to pray for complete healing and that the tumor will not have just shrunk, but be GONE!!!!

This week has been beautiful here!  The weather is unseasonably warm in the 70’s and we are enjoying every second of it.  We packed a picnic yesterday and took the kids to the park.  We walked the trail and enjoyed all the fall scenery.  We are trying to soak up every minute because the temp is supposed to drop into the 40’s this weekend.  Yuck!!!

I have to share with you a great experience that we had last night with our small group.  Instead of our usual bible study, we were asked to help serve dinner at Serve City, which is a homeless shelter in Hamilton.  Ricky and I have never had an opportunity to do this, so we were really excited.  It was so humbling.  The people there were so nice and so thankful.   It just really made me realize how much we have to be thankful for in our lives that we tend to take for granted.  A roof over our heads, a kitchen full of food, a dinner table to sit around in our kitchen, and a family to share our dinner with.   I know that not everyone has an opportunity to sit down as a family every night and eat together.  I pray this week that each of you have a chance to do that.  Turn off the tv, sit around the table, eat dinner and talk about your day.  Enjoy each other’s company and know that you are blessed to have a home to eat in and a family to share it with. 

Hope you all have a great rest of the week! 

siggy1

5 Responses to “17 Down =)”


  1. 1 Ruth Bronoske November 6, 2008 at 12:56 am

    Hi Tracey,

    I haven’t been up on your blog for a while….imagine my surprise when I got on it tonight and saw what you wrote!!!!!!!!

    I am sooooo glad you had such a good experience last night! It’s amazing how God works; I was QUITE distressed when I talked to Kristi on Sunday and found out she hadn’t been able to recruit anyone from her class to help her. But then she said, “Don’t worry…I think Joel’s Small Group is going to help me!”

    I got soooo excited….not just because Kristi had found people to help her….but also because I thought that this would be the perfect opportunity for you and Ricky to ‘give back’. (Remember you and I talking about that? You were feeling quite humbled that I had arranged all those weeks of meals for you, and I told you that God WILL end up giving you opportunities to give back).

    And here it is.

    I am SOOO glad to hear that you and Ricky enjoyed the experience!

    I have had a really tough couple of weeks, healthwise. Last week, during Communion, I prayed this prayer to God: “God, as you know, I’m really sick. The pain and the weakness has been getting in the way of so many things lately. But please, God, please keep putting opportunities in my path–even as sick as I am–to serve you………and to inspire people to have a relationship with you. Please!”

    And Tracey, God ANSWERED in the affirmative….by putting a WHOLE BUNCH of opportunities in my path the past couple of weeks to serve Him!!! Some of the opportunities actually resulted, I think, in people accepting Jesus into their hearts! Oh how honored I feel that God is ‘using me’ as a vessel!

    Did you see the gorgeous sunset last night? I actually prayed that you did I am positive that God ‘gifted’ that to all of us who are going through storms. It was so lovely; and it gave me such enormous peace because I know that the skies in heaven are going to look like that ALL the time!

    “No eye has seen,
    no ear has heard,
    no mind has conceived
    what God has prepared for those who love Him”.
    (1st Corinthians 2:9)

    Thank you, Tracey, for blessing me tonight! It meant A LOT to read about your “Serve City” experience in your blog!

    In Him,
    Ruth

  2. 2 Ricky Sweet November 6, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    Always nice to get over the hump and now its down hill from here. I’m currently in Dominican Republic enjoying the insructional league here, and Tracey its high 80’s and high humidity. 40 doesn’t sound to bad. i think and pray for you all everyday, Mack Jenkins says hi to all.
    Sweetie

  3. 3 Nazare and Mike Judd November 7, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    Wow, You guys are amazing… In The middle of all your going through you are still helping others! I just hope and Pray, that I can be half of the person you guys are! We are Praying hard and thinking of you often! Nazare’

  4. 4 Amy Figgins November 8, 2008 at 9:37 am

    So, are you just popping over to FL after Houston??? 😉 SO glad to hear things are going well. GOd is so good to us. All the glory to Him!

  5. 5 Erin Pote November 8, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    Tracey, you continue to amaze me in all that you do! An important lesson to all of us to be thankful for our loved ones and the blessings we have in our lives!


Leave a Reply

