Update on Ricky

Hey everyone!  I just realized that I haven’t really given an update on Ricky in awhile.  Let’s just say that no news is good news =)  His treatments have been going very well and he has only 5 left.  Yeah!  The only side affect that he has had is loss of hair.  He lost the whole area on his left side where the surgery was and now he is even losing some on his right side.  But if that’s his only problem, we will take it!!!  He has had very minimal fatigue and none of the other anticipated problems.  We are so thankful!

I know that I mentioned that I was worried about finding an oncologist here that would work with Dr. Yung.  I am happy to report that I found one and we meet with him on December 4.  His name is Dr. Leming and everything I’ve read about him has been very good.  So, he will be our oncologist here in case we need anything while we’re home.

I just scheduled our appointment in Houston and we meet with Dr. Yung on December 15.  He will read the MRI scans and check his bloodwork to see what our next course of action is going to be.  We are still praying that the tumor will be completely GONE!!!  Please continue to pray for that as well.  Although we don’t need to be in Houston until Monday, we decided to leave a little early to spend some much needed time away.  I am ready for a little getaway from the chaos that is our life right now.  So we will get to spend Saturday and Sunday just hanging out and relaxing.  I can’t wait to sleep in!!!!

Other than that there is no real news to report.  Lily is still doing great and is now on the training team at gymnastics.  Her first meet will be in January and she is so excited!  She will compete on floor, beam, vault, and bars.  She has been working so hard learning all of her routines and is doing amazing.  She is also in the Christmas choir at church and has practiced so hard to learn all of the songs.   Riley has been busy with school and getting ready for his Christmas program at school.  He gets to get up on the big stage at church and can’t wait! 

I am doing well.  Yesterday I was home for a total of 20 minutes all day!  We left the house at 8:45 AM and we didn’t get back in the house until 6:30 PM.  I came in for 20 minutes to change and eat lunch before I went to work out at 1:00.  Some days are crazy and I feel like I live in the car.  It will be so nice when things slow down after the holidays. 

The turkey donations went so well!!!!  Kroger has their turkeys on sale for .59 a pound this week and I found a manager willing to put 25, that’s right, I said 25, turkeys aside for me to pick up on Sunday morning!  I received enough donations to buy 25 twenty pound turkeys!  I also need to thank Jamie who dropped off turkey number 26 on my doorstep last night.  I am so thankful for all of you who donated.  I am just thrilled that because of all of you, 26 families will get to have a hot turkey on Thanksgiving.

Hope you all have a great night.  It’s awful quiet in the living room and I am just scared to find out what is going on in there!  Lord knows what Lil and Ri have gotten into =)

siggy1

1 Response to “Update on Ricky”


  1. 1 Praise the Lord November 21, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    The Stones:

    I am and always have been a fan of the Cincinnati Reds, but rarely does a player come along that seems to be a good Christian and a great man, Ricky really showed that. The blog is a great witness of the faith of the Stones and shows what great support yall are to each other in the family. Come Lord and heal Ricky and bless the Stone family!


Leave a Reply

