Mending

I have to start off by letting y’all know that I just adore Beth Moore.  When Ricky played for the Astros, I was so fortunate to go and sit in on her bible studies.  She is A.M.A.Z.I.N.G!  Seriously.  She speaks from her heart and her every word speaks to me.  I didn’t realize then just how blessed we were to be so close and get to see her so often. 

Some of my friends and I decided to start a Beth Moore bible study.  We decided on Believing God, and I couldn’t tell you why.  We had our choice of all 10,000 (not really) of her studies, but that’s the one we choose.  This was before the seizure.  Actually, it was 5 days before.  God definitely knew what He was doing when He led me to this study.

This book unfortunately sat for quite awhile after we bought it.  Obviously, things were a little chaotic and adding another bible study every week just didn’t fit in time wise.  So, it just sat.  It sat and beckoned me every day.  I would glance at it and walk away.  It was a study meant to do as a group and I couldn’t just start it without them.  Right ?  One day on my way out the door to take Ricky to radiation, I grabbed it and threw it in my purse.  I thought that I would glance at it while waiting for him.  I started to “glance” through the first part and I was hooked!  I have continued to do the study on my own, but trust me, I will absolutely do it again with my group.  It is so good and speaks to me so much right now. 

There have been many things that I’ve read so far that have touched my heart.  I’ve cried many times while doing this study on faith.  There is a lot of focus on healing and let’s face it,  our lives are in need of some healing right now.  I love the way she discusses faith and healing together.  However, there is one illustration that is so beautiful that I must share it with you.

She discusses how God may choose to heal instantaneously or he may not.  It really depends on what His objective is in the situation.  Who is He trying to reach and how best will He reach them?  In some cases, He heals instantaneously.  We personally know of a man who was healed of a brain tumor.  One day it was there, the next it was gone.  The doctor’s were baffled.  However, he can tell you the exact moment he was healed.  We heard that story after Ricky’s diagnosis but before his surgery, so of course we prayed for instantaneous healing.  However, we learned that instantaneous healing was not in Ricky’s near future.  His tumor was still there.

Then Beth gives another method of healing, the stitch-by-stitch method.  This is used to teach sufficiency and to mature and build faith.  Not necessarily only to the person being healed, but to those around the situation as well.  She says that “God can bring wholeness and restoration to a life as someone would mend by stitching. A seamstress cannot mend a fabric she does not hold in her hands.  Likewise, God cradles us in His careful hands as He stitches our broken pieces back together again, forming a new and far more beautiful garment.”  Do you have goosebumps?  I sure do!  The thought of God cradling Ricky in his arms and mending his broken pieces just brings so much peace to me.  Each step of our journey is another piece being stitched back together and just adds to His masterpiece. 

The seizure…broken into pieces

The lack of insurance…stitch

The fund set up for us…stitch

The tumor…stitch

The amazing support of friends and family…stitch

The surgery…stitch

Fast physical healing…stitch

The lack of speech…stitch

An amazing speech pathologist…stitch

The cancer…stitch

The knowledge of supplements and food to fight cancer…stitch

Ricky quitting dipping after 21 years…stitch

Our support in Houston…stitch

The radiation…stitch

The loss of speech again…stitch

Lack of symptoms during radiation…stitch

The auction…stitch

 Even though Ricky’s stitch-by-stitch healing takes us on a much longer journey, He is being formed into something more beautiful by the hand of God.  I see it every day in him.  I see it every day in me.  I see it every day in our children.  I see it every day in our family.  I see it every day in our friends.

This stitch-by-stitch healing is a painful process at times.  Sometimes I do wish that God would choose the instantaneous approach, I’m not going to lie. It would be so much easier.  However, I know that He knows what He is doing. I must believe that He knows what He is doing.  When I think of how much closer I’ve gotten to God, I understand.  When I see how much closer Ricky has gotten to God, I understand.  He has us in His hand while He is healing Ricky.  He is using this painful time to draw us near. 

 Come near to God and he will come near to you. 

James 4:8 

 When I open my mail and find gift cards from anonymous strangers, I understand.   When we have friends set up funds for us, I understand.  When we have friends set up elaborate auctions for us, I understand.  When we have friends make lovey dovey gift baskets, I understand.  He is using our stitch-by-stitch healing to touch others along the way.  Others that may not otherwise see or hear of His miraculous power.  His word is being spread through our painful experiences.  We must have faith that the end result will be so worth the stitch-by-stitch process.

Friends, God loves us.  He loves us so much that He sent His son to die for our sins.  He loves us so much that He holds us in His hand while He so carefully heals us stitch-by-stitch.  He is working on us daily. Mending our broken lives into something far more beautiful than we can imagine.  We are all going through our own stitch-by-stitch process of healing.  You must believe that God is mending your lives just as much as He is mending ours.  Believe…

Everything is possible for him who believes.

Mark 9:23

6 Responses to “Mending”


  1. 1 Erin Pote December 5, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    WOW! I really needed to hear this today Tracey. Thank you for sharing! Once again you write with such precision and clarity. Thank you!

  2. 2 kelly linebrink December 5, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    I am moved by Beth Moore too Trace; but I, like so many others that read your blog, are also moved by you. Your clarity, strength, and faith in this situation is more than I can even comprehend. You are a fighter and I am sure that rubs off on your husband, kids and family! Please consider writing your own devotional- when your life slows down a bit! (ha ha) Missing yall at PAO but praying for yall everyday!

  3. 3 Alisa December 6, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    Tracey, All I can do is echo what Kelly and Erin said. You are amazing! Thank you for helping me to see the world in a different way!

  4. 4 naturallyopinionated December 8, 2008 at 12:52 am

    Thank you for sharing in this way. It meant a lot to me, because it seems that I am a person being healed stitch by stitch too. Your blog is lovely and I enjoy it very much – your faith and love of Christ is plain to see.

    God bless you!
    ~ Lori

  5. 5 Nicole Vogelsong December 10, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    You are amazing…


  1. 1 Chemo « For we walk by faith, not by sight Trackback on December 29, 2008 at 10:35 pm

Leave a Reply

