Pictures From Our Trip

Hey everyone!  Quick update before I post pictures.  We found out that Ricky will start his first round of chemo on December 29.  He is taking an oral pill called Temodar and he will take 4 pills nightly before bed.  He is on a cycle of 5 days on and 23 days off.  He will also be taking Zofran every 6 hours to help with the nausea.  They said to expect some fatigue and nausea, but at least the zofran will help with that.  I will definitely keep yall updated when he starts.

Okay, on to the fun stuff.  Here are some pictures from our trip.  We stayed with our frinds Mr. Johnny and Carla at their ranch in Brenham.  Here is a picture of their son Josh, Mr. Johnny, and Ricky.  They were about to head out to feed the cattle. 

003-640x480

This is the great room of the ranch.  When I tell yall that it is beautiful, that is not even doing it justice. 

004-640x480

Carla took me down to the horses in the jeep.  It was so windy that day and we were cracking up.  Not to mention that I was looking straight into the sun!

007-640x480

This horse’s name is Elvis.  I didn’t ride him, but I thought that he was just so handsome. 

011-640x480

Now this is the horse that I rode, Lex.  Let me tell you something about Lex.  He wanted to make sure that I knew who was in charge.  Hint, it was NOT me!  Here is our first meeting.  He decide my hair looked like hay and he wanted a snack.

013-640x480

Here I am when I first got on and Lex wanted me to know that he was in total control.  Nope, wasn’t going to move.  Not one bit. 

022-640x480

Josh gave me some pointers and I finally got him moving.  Even though all he would do was follow Josh and his horse around the ring.  It was too funny.

023-640x480

This is Me and Lex and Josh and his horse Bear.  This was right before we headed out for a ride on their land.  You will notice that Ricky is not in any of these pictures.  He was very worried about me riding and decided to stay back at the house. 

032-640x480

After we rode, I went with Mr. Johnny and Josh to find some wild hogs on another part of their land.  We were there right at dusk and did spot a huge group of them.  However, the best part was the remarkable sunset.  There are three separate pictures that I took as the sun was going down.  We were driving so the scenery is different in each one.

033-640x4801

035-640x480

040-640x480

We also had a nice surprise when our friends Kelly and Scott drove to see us.  They drove about 2 and a half hours with their adorable daughter Ellie to visit.  Ellie is about 18 months and we hadn’t gotten to meet her yet, so we were so excited.  Here is a picture of Scott and Ricky.

063-640x480

Kelly and I took Ellie to go see the lemurs, marmoset, and anteater across the street.  That’s right folks, the neighbors had a mini zoo.  It was so neat to see them.  We brought them some bananas and they were so sweet.

042-640x480

Can I please have a banana?

052-640x480

Of course I have to add a picture of Ellie.  Seriously, how cute is she?

061-640x480

I must end with my favorite picture from our trip.  I will title it, “The Texas Squirrel.”  I have a few other titles that I came up with, but I am trying to keep this g rated.  I cracked up every single time I walked by it in the hallway.  When I mentioned it, Carla told me that it was made by an inmate.  I didn’t ask any more questions after that, but it makes the squirrel that much funnier to me. 

041-640x480

If that doesn’t make you giggle, then I don’t know what will.  If you made it this far in my post, thanks for sharing our trip with us =)

2 Responses to “Pictures From Our Trip”


  1. 1 Jimmy Scott December 22, 2008 at 11:04 am

    Cool pictures. I hope you and Ricky and Ellie have a great, great Christmas!

  2. 2 kelly linebrink December 22, 2008 at 11:38 am

    We had so much fun! So good to see yall! Wish we could of put one of those lemurs in our back pocket to take home! Merry Chrismtas!


Leave a Reply

