Still here, just busy

Sorry I am so behind on my blogging.  This week has been busy, and it seems like it is only going to get busier.  I have some wonderful things to share with you, but I don’t have the time to write about them all now.  Let’s just say that the new series we are doing at church called “One Month To Live”  has really had an impact on my life.  Our small group finished up week two this week, and wow, it really makes you put things into perspective.  I promise to write a post about it as soon as I can. 

Other than running around like a crazy woman, not much is going on.  If any of you want to know what to get me for me birthday, I need a taxi sign for my car, because I am in it ALL DAY LONG!  I run my sweet things from here to there.  There is mostly gymnastics right now as Lily is getting ready for her second competition this weekend.  She is one of 79 girls competing in Level 3 at the Coaches Spectacular.  It is hosted by our gym and is a huge event.  She is so excited and has practiced her little heart out all week.  She has two more classes and then the meet is Sunday morning.You know I will have pictures to report back with from that.

Riley is doing well.  He has had a couple of nights with some coughing and puking of phlegm.  Nasty, I know.  I call it like I see it.  Not that I could see much at 2 AM, but that is my best guess.  He is also running a fever at night, but not during the day.  It baffles me, but if tonight isn’t any better, we will be off to the doctor.  Momma needs her sleep.  I am not so pleasant without my sleep.  Just sayin…

Ricky is  also doing good.  He has still had a lot of fatigue, but is really fighting through it.  His speech has come so far, and he still attends speech therapy 3 days  a week.  His next round of chemo should come via mail tomorrow, but he isn’t set to start until Monday the 26th.  Just praying that it goes as smoothly as last time.  He is fine with queasiness and fatigue, it’s just an annoyance.  As long as  we don’t have to deal with low blood counts and vomiting, he is good!

We are still amazed at how good God has been to our family.  The support that has been shown is amazing and we are so grateful every single day.  It is amazing how He will show up in the most unlikely areas, whether it be in a song or an email to speak to me.  I always hear from Him when I’m not necessarily looking, but He knows what I need to hear.    For example, I was having a rough day last week.  We play Christian music at all times in our home.  We keep it on 93.3 and it stays on even at night.  Anyway, I was in the kitchen cooking something and just grumpy about what lied ahead that day.  I had a lot to do and not enough time to do it.  Then I heard a familiar song in the background.

It is Bring the Rain by MercyMe.  I will paste the words below, but if you haven’t heard it before, go listen to it!  It is one of those songs that makes me stop and realize how important the difficult times really are in our lives.  They are not there just to be hard, they are there to build us up and make us stronger.  Those times are there for us so we can lift Him up and praise Him even through the darkest times. 

So my poor me morning turned into me praising Him for my busy day.  Thank you Lord for blessing me with these two beautiful and healthy children that I have to get ready for school this morning.  Thank you for giving us a safe vehicle to drive to get them to school.  Thank you for giving me the time to go and work out, even if it is just 30 minutes crammed between appointments.  Thank you for giving me the knowledge on how to cook organically and aid in Ricky’s healing even if it means I must drive 30 minutes to get to the closest grocery store.  Thank you Lord for giving Lily an unbelievable talent in gymnastics.  It gives her something to focus on and become a part of during this transition time in our lives.  Thank you for that even though it means we spend 7 hours at the gym each week.

That’s what that song says to me.  Bring the Rain, and let me praise You through it all!  I know that surviving through these rainy times, will only build me up and make me a stronger person.  It will allow me to focus on all of the postitive things that the Lord is doing through some of  the darkest times.

I can count a million times
People asking me how I
Can praise You with all that I’ve gone through
The question just amazes me
Can circumstances possibly
Change who I forever am in You

Maybe since my life was changed
Long before these rainy days
It’s never really ever crossed my mind
To turn my back on you, oh Lord
My only shelter from the storm
But instead I draw closer through these times

So I pray

Bring me joy, bring me peace
Bring the chance to be free
Bring me anything that brings You glory
And I know there’ll be days
When this life brings me pain
But if that’s what it takes to praise You
Jesus, bring the rain

I am Yours regardless of
The dark clouds that may loom above
Because You are much greater than my pain
You who made a way for me
By suffering Your destiny
So tell me what’s a little rain

So I pray

Bring me joy, bring me peace
Bring the chance to be free
Bring me anything that brings You glory
And I know there’ll be days
When this life brings me pain
But if that’s what it takes to praise You
Jesus, bring the rain

Holy, holy, holy
Holy, holy, holy
Is the Lord God Almighty
Is the Lord God Almighty

1 Response to “Still here, just busy”


  1. 1 Alisa January 25, 2009 at 10:55 am

    Tracey, You really are an amazing woman! I’m really thankful to hear you find time for yourself, even a 30 minute timeframe between appointments!
    Thanks for the update on everyone. Go Lily this weekend! We are excited to hear how it goes and see the photos!


Leave a Reply

