Happy Birthday Ricky!

Happy birthday Ricky!  34 years young today!!  I am so proud to  be your wife and am thrilled that you have chosen me to walk this journey with you.  I am inspired by your strength every day!  You are an incredible husband and father that always puts your family before yourself.  I love watching your enthusiasm for the Lord and how it has changed you.  I love you more today than I ever have!  Can you believe that now we have been together for half of our lives?!?   I can’t wait to see what the next 34 years holds for us…Love you always

 

Round 3 of chemo is officially over!!!!  Thank you all for your continued prayers.  This round went much better than the last one.  Days 1-4 were great.  He couldn’t get enough to eat and his energy was up.  He worked out all four days and felt wonderful.  Unfortunately, I was sick so he had to help out a lot at home.  He watched the kids Tuesday and Wednesday so I could rest.  He followed me around with Oust and washed everything I touched.  I am so thankful that he felt well enough to help out!

Day 5 hit him hard and he slept yesterday from 8:45 AM until 7:00 PM.  He alternated the new anti nausea pill and his Zofran and he just slept.  However, he said that this time the new pill helped his sleep to be restful as opposed to the uncomfortable sleep he had last round.   We had dinner plans with friends that I canceled because with me being sick and him sleeping all day, I thought there was no way we were going out for dinner.  However, he surprised me when he got out of bed at 7:00 and wanted to go out to eat.  He said he was starving and felt much better after sleeping all day.  So we had a wonderful dinner and topped it off with some white chocolate macadamia nut cookies that were warm from the oven. (and so off our strict regimen) 

Last round of chemo, he was in bed for four days.  So this morning we woke up and we were pleasantly suprised that he felt much better!  Still not 100%, but good enough that he didn’t need to take the new pill and go to bed.   We are just going to lay low today and hang out around the house.  The kids are at my sister’s house and I am still trying to get over this walking pneumonia, so we aren’t going to do too much!

If any of you want to leave birthday wishes for Ricky, I’ll make sure he gets them later on today!

4 Responses to “Happy Birthday Ricky!”


  1. 1 the Gortners March 1, 2009 at 10:44 am

    Happy Birthday, Ricky!!!
    Thanks for letting us be a part of your life!! Your family is an inspiration to us. You are a great example of what a Christian husband and father should be!!

    Blessings,
    Bill and Becky

  2. 2 The Figueroas March 2, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Happy Birthday Ricky! We hope your day was fantastic and that your coming year is filled with great experiences and love!

  3. 3 Teri Bono March 3, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    Happy Belated Birthday, Ricky! i was out of town this weekend and not able to check the blog, so i didn’t know it was your birthday! I am so thankful to know you and Tracy……and can’t wait for you guys to come back to Houston with another amazing report! I feel blessed to be able to lift your family up in prayer!

  4. 4 Ricky Sweet March 3, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    Nice that he took care of you. Nice to pay back. sounds like he is battling well and continues to have control most of the time. Spring training is going well so far, little cold yesterday and today but should start warming up soon hopefully getting to the 80’s very soon. I know it stinks up there. HAPPY BIRTHDAY kid. How old are ya 44? 🙂 Funny guy. Prayers are still coming your way, stay in touch.
    Sweetie


Leave a Reply

