The Booger Game

So, I pick Riley up from school yesterday and Lily is with me.  I HAD to go to the grocery store with both kids which ranks up there with getting a root canal.  However, I had no other choice.  So, off we went.  I bribed them with a cart that shows a movie and a cookie from the bakery and honestly they did fairly well.  Then we have the car ride home.

I’m on the phone with Pastor Andy from Texas setting up a visit for when we are down there.  I hear Riley say, “Which hand do you think the booger is in?”  I ignore it since I’m on a phone call with someone who has never met my kids and try to finish up quickly.  Then I hear the same question again, but this time from Lily.  My extremely smart 6 year old.  Surely, she wouldn’t be putting a booger in her hand and playing hide the booger.

So, I politely get off the phone and ask them, “You really don’t have a booger in your hand?  Do you?”  Silence.  Complete and utter silence.  So once again I ask, “Seriously, one of you tell me it’s a pretend booger!”  Then Lily starts sobbing and confesses saying it’s a real booger.

At this point, I just want to scrub them and my car down with sanitizer.  I would love to know what in the world would possess them to play “Hide the booger” but neither seemed to have an answer.  Hilarious, I know.  Disgusting, I know that too.  I just had to give you a small glimpse into my life.  If you don’t want your kids hanging around mine anymore,  I totally understand =)

PS  You may not want to ride in my car either.  I didn’t find either of the boogers!

3 Responses to “The Booger Game”


  1. 1 Teri Bono May 28, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    I AM ROLLING! this is the funniest thing i have read in a long, long time! i LOVE your kids!!!
    So when is your next trip to Houston–i’ll put it on my calendar now so i can reserve that Tuesday for Bible study! i don’t wanna miss another one!

  2. 2 The Diehls May 29, 2009 at 9:00 am

    Your children make me laugh!! Thank God for Clorox wipes!!

  3. 3 Erin Pote May 30, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    Yes, this too is the story of my life! Ahhhhh…the things we Moms do!!!


Leave a Reply

