In the Middle of Something

So I heard this sermon the other day that really hit hard.  I’m sure most of you know the story about Moses and him leading his people out of Egypt.  They made it to the bank of the Jordan River and sent spies ahead to check out the promise land.  The spies came back with stories of “giants”, but the land flowed with milk and honey.  They were scared and turned back. Not to mention this river that they needed to figure out how to cross. They ended up wandering in the wilderness for 40 years.  Sounds like fun, huh?

Then after 40 years Joshua is going to lead them to the promise land.  He knows that he has the river to cross with all these people.   The river was in his way.  River=problem.  So what does he do?  He sends the presence of the Lord before him and the people.  He sends the Ark of the Covenant before them and lets them know that the waters will part once it enters the river.  How many of us can say that when we are faced with a problem, we send out the Lord’s presence?  What about praying for a problem instead of trying to “fix” it ourselves.  I am so guilty of trying to fix my own problems.  However, God wants us to trust in Him and let him fix them for us.  It might not be quick.  It might not be easy.  But if we trust in Him and give them to Him, he will take care of them.

So this “problem” of a river is before them.  Joshua and the people praised God for what he was about to do.  They had faith that the Lord would solve this problem for them.  Did they moan and complain?  Nope.  Did they sob and ask why?  Nope.  They praised and worshipped for what they knew would happen.  The priests carrying the Ark dipped their feet into the water and it parted.  There they stood on dry land.

Problem solved.  Right?  The people walked across dry land and the priests stayed in the dry part of the river with the ark.  When all had passed, they could have stepped up and out.  The problem was over.  How many of us pray for a problem and are happy when it is solved.  Then we tend to forget about it.  We may whisper a quiet, “Thank you Jesus” and then go on like it never it happened.  Not Joshua.

He then placed twelve stones in the center of the Jordan river as an alter.  He continued to worship and praise God in the midst of this “problem”.  He also ordered that twelve men carry shoulder size boulders out of the river to take to town and build a memorial.  He wanted everyone to see the smooth river rocks as proof of what the Lord had done to get them there. 

This is the part that I like best.  When the priests stepped out of the dry river bed with the Ark, the river returned to normal.  This “problem” was no longer there, it was then a miracle.  How many problems in your life have turned into miracles?  How many times have we looked at what could have been a disaster but turned into something so good?  Do you praise God before, during, and after all of these times?  That is the hard part.  It’s hard to praise Him when things are tough.  It’s hard to praise Him when you can’t see the light at the end of the tunnel.  But He deserves it!  He can turn your problems into miracles.  The people of Israel stood and looked forward at the Jordan and saw a problem but looked behind them at the Jordan and saw a miracle.  It all depends on which direction you are looking.

I know that through the past 11 months we have had plenty of problems.  Ones that seemed like they would never end.  Ones that we are still in the process of getting through.  Ones that are no longer problems, but miracles.  I have tried so hard to praise Him throughout.  When I heard this story about Joshua, I couldn’t help but relate our own situation.  When we found out about Ricky’s tumor, we were crushed.  However, we used the power of prayer and sent the Lord ahead of our situation.  He helped us find the right surgeon and then the right neuro oncologist.  Even though we were faced with speech problems, radiation, chemotherapy, mood swings, sleepless nights (I could keep on going), we tried to find even small things to be thankful about. 

Were we disappointed when Ricky came out of surgery and couldn’t speak?  Absolutely.  However, we praised God that he had all of his motor skills.  Were we disappointed when the doctor said he could remove 100% of the tumor, but only got 90%?  Yup.  But we praised Him that it was operable because so many are not.  Were we disappointed when the tumor was a very rare Grade III Anaplastic Oligodendroglioma when they thought it was a Grade II benign tumor.  YES!  But we praised Him that it was not a Grade IV Glioblastoma that would have been even worse.  I could keep going on and on, but I think you get the point =)  Praise Him in every situation. 

So, this cancer diagnosis is the river in our lives.  We are 100% positive that God is working a miracle in our lives. We try hard to praise Him even during this difficult time.  God is the same now that He was before the cancer diagnosis.  He deserves the same praise that he did 11 months ago.

 Remember that on the other side of every problem is a miracle.

3 Responses to “In the Middle of Something”


  1. 1 Norma July 6, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    I loved your blog! You are so right, in every situation there is something to be thankful for. It is up to us to not allow a situation to bring us down but remember that God is in control and our lives are already mapped out in His eyes, as you have already realized. You truly are an inspiration to many and most importantly to me. I love you and I am blessed to know you and your precious family!!! (PS~ Would you mind if I print this blog out and share it with the Potter’s House ladies? This is a great message, one that needs to be shared!)

  2. 2 Ruth Bronoske July 11, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    July 11th

    Tracey,

    I haven’t ‘clicked into’ your blog in many weeks–but today, for some reason, I felt ‘led to it’. It is amazing how God ‘uses’ so many different things (people, sermons, songs, nature, etc.) to remind us of His presence during the tough moments.

    I don’t think it would have had the same impact if I had read it the day you wrote it, which was a full week ago. But today, the things that you said in your “In The Middle Of Something” Blog meant SO MUCH to me.

    I’m not going to go into it all up here on your Blog, but I have been struggling SOOO MUCH lately: the pain….and the side-affects from all of the poison (the medications….and Satan’s nonstop attacks….

    …..they have all worn me down.

    Satan has made it so tremendously tough on me lately.

    And it has become an ENORMOUS task to keep from feeling discouraged…..angry………hurt.

    And my desire to ‘fight’ has whittled down to almost nothing.

    But Tracey, the most interesting thing has happened. A ‘bright light’ has been placed within reach. A light that I KNOW will make this road that I’m on so much easier to bear.

    Problem is, in order to have it, I have to ‘give up’ a great deal; and so will the rest of my family. And actually, a lot of other people, whom I know that I touch with my presence, will have to ‘give up something’ as well.

    All week, I’ve been struggling with whether it is OK to be selfish right now. I’ve been struggling with whether it is the right thing to do to put ME first. I’ve been struggling with the possibility that Satan will jump in and ‘use’ what I’m doing as a tool to wreck havoc. He’s sooooo good at doing that, and I truly am so exhausted from all that he has been putting me through that I have nothing left in me to stand up against him.

    But here’s what you said in your Blog:

    “However, God wants us to trust in Him and let him fix them for us. It might not be quick. It might not be easy. But if we trust in Him and give them to Him, he will take care of them”.

    And then you said:

    “So this “problem” of a river is before them. Joshua and the people praised God for what he was about to do. They had faith that the Lord would solve this problem for them. Did they moan and complain? Nope. Did they sob and ask why? Nope. They praised and worshiped for what they knew would happen. The priests carrying the Ark dipped their feet into the water and it parted. There they stood on dry land”.

    Your Blog hit me hard! It reminded me that God is my ‘SAVIOR’, and He will not let me down! If I’m too tired to fight, than He will ‘fight’ my ‘fight’ for me!

    I CAN let go, and know that whatever happens, He will not let me go down!

    As I say my prayers, I will be thanking Him for what He is about to do in my life.

    Thank you, Tracey, for taking the time to write this….and for allowing God to ‘use you’ to comfort me and give me hope.

    In His love,
    Ruth

  3. 3 Wendy July 14, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Tracey,

    I also wanted to thank you for taking the time to write this blog. Your messages are so inspirational, and in the past I’ve used your optimism and references to scripture to deal with struggles I’m facing, although none compare to yours. Recently one of my girlfriends was diagnosed with Stage III melanoma. Her son found the mole on her back. It has metastasized to her lymph nodes and she started interferon treatment yesterday. So far she is feeling ok, aside from intense fear. She is a single mom with 3 kids, her mother passed away last year and her extended family lives in Oregon. Anyway, your blog fills me with uplifting messages for her, and I’ve encouraged her to read it when she feels up to it (sometimes she would just rather not think about it).

    I keep you, Ricky, and your family in my prayers, as well as Ruth and her family! 🙂

    Wendy


Leave a Reply

