July 2009

July was a month filled with lazy summer days at the pool and cool nights playing until dark.  The weather was mild so the pools were cold, but that didn’t stop the kids.  Here are some cute pictures of Riley being Riley.  He cracks me up!

002 [640x480]

006 [640x480]

He has become good buddies with the little boy next door.  They run up and down the sidewalk playing superheroes!

007 [640x480]

010 [640x480]

They enjoyed playing street hockey with the nieghbors.

003 [640x480]

004 [640x480]

Is it fair that I make my kids play street hockey from the grass?  Maybe not, but they didn’t care! 

005 [640x480]

Ricky was invited to play in a Celebrity Softball Game and thought it would be fun!  The proceeds went to a local park for special needs children.  They are trying to get the ground rubberized.  The park was built by Joe Nuxhall and the  game was the night of what would have been his 81st birthday.  Here is Ricky playing 2nd base.

012 [640x480]

The kids enjoyed the food.  Imagine that =)

013 [640x480]

The kids with Daddy after the game.  The game only lasted a few innings because there was  a huge storm heading our way!  Yes, Lily has cupcake all over her face and Riley has a mouth full of gatorade!  They are all about the snacks…what can I say?

015 [640x480]

Riley being silly!

016 [640x480]

July was a great month and I will post pictures from our weekend in Louisville in a separate post.  August, however, will be one full of changes for our family…

I have been praying about a job opportunity and whether now is the time to return to work.  I have been offered a Pre K class at The Potter’s House starting  on August 31.  It will be three mornings a week and Riley will attend preschool while I am teaching.  That will leave my Tuesdays and Thursdays open for doctors appointments andvolunteering in Lily’s classroom.  They are also so sweet to allow me off every two months to travel with Ricky to MD Anderson.  So….I am taking the job!!  I am excited and nervous!

I also will be going back to school this fall as well.  I’m not exactly sure what classes and where yet.  I am still waiting on a call from Miami University.  I need to take six credit hours this school year to renew my teaching certificate in June of 2010. Going back to school has me more nervous than teaching!  However, Ricky is on board 100% and is excited to support me!  It’s going to be a HUGE change in our household, but one that I know will be a good one!  We have prayed extensively about these two decisions all summer!  I’m just seeing where the Lord is leading me to take classes. 

As far as medical updates, Ricky starts round 9 of chemo on Monday the 1oth.  Then we leave on August 16th for the next MD Anderson appointment.  The MRI is scheduled for Friday the 14th and his appointment is on Tuesday the 18th.  Please continue to pray for clean scans with no regrowth. 

Ricky is looking great and feeling pretty good!   We feel so blessed to be able to share our journey with all of you!  We truly appreciate every single prayer!

0 Responses to “July 2009”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

