1 Peter 5:10

And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast

1 Peter 5:10

I was sitting here this afternoon with my Bible and just thinking about this past year.  Where we started, where we have gone, where we are now.  I prayed that the Lord would lead me to a verse that would speak to me.  This is the one He led me to.  Wow!  What a wonderful word He had for me today.

I was struck by “after you have suffered for a little while…”  I surely don’t feel some days like this journey has been just a little while.  Some days, quite honestly, have felt like a lifetime.  In Job 7:7, we are reminded that “Remember, O God, that my life is but a breath“.  Our lifetime here on earth is so brief compared to the life that is waiting for us in Heaven.    So honestly this suffering that we have endured this past year is truly just a little while.

The next part of the verse is the best.  This suffering for a little while, “will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast”.  Amen to that!  Out of the many  things that this year has taught me, one that stands out is  is that I am way stronger than I ever thought I could be.  It has made me strong, firm, and steadfast!  Would I rather He have taught me this a different way…absolutely!  However, if this is the way that He has chosen, then I am thankful. 

 I am thankful that He loves me enough to make this suffering last just a little while. I am thankful that He has called me to His eternal glory.   I am thankful that He loves me enough to restore me Himself.  I am ever so thankful for God’s grace, which I need every single day =)  I am so thankful for the strength that He has given me and shown me that I have.  I am thankful that I can be firm and steadfast in my faith.  Most of all…

I am thankful for Him!

What are you thankful for today?

0 Responses to “1 Peter 5:10”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

