Where Have We Been and What Have We Been Doing?

Ok, I know it’s been forever.  Life has been crazy, but in a great way.  So much is going on that it is probably easier for me to update by family member…

Ricky… He is on Day 3 of Round 10 of chemo!  Do you know what that means?!?  2 left to go after this week.  He has not felt too great this round, but he is getting through it.  Today he has been queasy and tired, yet he insisted on mowing the lawn.  He will not let cancer and chemo run his life! 

Lily… Lily started first grade and LOVES going to school all day!  Her reading has really taken off and she is a wonderful student.  She is also still in gymnastics 3 days a week and we have added another practice on Tuesday mornings.  She was invited to be part of the TOP (Talent opportunity program) program and she goes from 6-9 AM before school.  This was her first week and she had a blast.  She climbed the rope halfway to the top with her legs in a pike position using only her arms…AMAZING! (I don’t even think I would make it up the rope with knots LOL) She is so proud of her accomplishments!  Gymnastics has taught her discipline and the value of hard work!

Riley… My little man turns 4 today!  Where has the time gone?  He started preschool last week and is going Monday, Wednesday and Friday mornings.  He loves school but wants me to be his teacher.  Go figure!  However, he loves Ms. Pam and is doing great.  He can finally do organized sports and is thrilled to be starting soccer next week.  He will get to play basketball this winter and baseball in the spring.  He is so excited that he gets to play sports and not just watch sissy!

Me… Hmmmm….where to start!  I started teaching a PreK class at The Potter’s House on Monday, Wednesday and Friday mornings.  My class is wonderful and I am enjoying every moment with them.  Since it is a Christian preschool, I get to have prayer time and bible study time daily.  It is such a wonderful program and I feel so blessed to be a part of it! 

 I also am going back to school for my Master’s in Educational Leadership.  I am taking 6 credit hours and one of the classes, Politics in Education, just rocked my world.  My word… I don’t know if I’ll make it through the semester!  Lots of papers and high expectations.  I sat through the class and thought, “What in the world am I doing?”  After much deliberation, I am sticking it out and praying that I will make it through!

It has been such a change to go from both of us being home to me being gone so much!  Ricky has stepped in and helped out immensely.  It has been a tough transition and one that has made for a very tired mommy.  I’m sure that once we get into a routine, it will all slow down.  I am thankful that Ricky is at a point where he can help out again and I have the opportunity to go back to work and school. 

Thanks for sticking with us even when I don’t update as often as I used to!  We are still grateful for every single prayer!  Please say a prayer for Ricky to make it through this round especially with all of the added responsibilities at home!

Love to you all,

Tracey

2 Responses to “Where Have We Been and What Have We Been Doing?”


  1. 1 Michelle Boerger September 25, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    Dear Tracey,
    Hello! I have really enjoyed getting to know your family and your story through your blog. What an adventure you have had!

    I was so intrigued by your story from the welcome letter at school, I wanted to learn more. I discovered your wonderful blog and the others that link to it. …made for great reading on this rainy night!

    I am convinced (and super glad) that our paths have crossed for a reason…whatever that may be! Even if just to get my little sweetie, Madi, ready for kindergarten *gasp*!!!

    Your family will be in our prayers. I wish you the best on your school adventure too! good for you!
    I look forward to working with and growing with you this year! Thanks for your kindness!

  2. 2 Janeen Duckworth September 28, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    Hi Tracey, I was thinking of you today and just wanted to check in and see how you guys were doing. I was so happy to read the wonderful news! Please tell Ricky that Brandon said Hello.
    You really should write a book about your experiences!


Leave a comment




Blog Stats

  • 47,571 hits